Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!

my user have problem with sending activate emails from Vbulletin and php nuke !!!

Discussion in 'E-mail Discussion' started by mahdiparak, Jul 14, 2007.

  1. mahdiparak

    mahdiparak Registered

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2006
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    hi ,

    some of my user , have problem by sending activate email , from their forums.
    (Vbulletin and phpnuke)

    this issue happen since i checked (Prevent the user "nobody" from sending out mail to remote addresses) box in Tweak setting , for preventing Spammers.

    please let me know , how can i fix this issue ?

    Suexec was enabled in my server , but i dont enable PhpSuexec in apache build .
     
  2. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    16,352
    Likes Received:
    402
    Trophy Points:
    583
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:


    Uncheck it.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. jandafields

    jandafields Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2004
    Messages:
    428
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    168
    Location:
    USA
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Yep, since you don't run suphp or suexecphp, all your scripts (including vb and phpnuke) will run as nobody. If you prevent "nobody" from sending mail, there is your problem.
     
  4. cjmwebdesigns

    cjmwebdesigns Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2003
    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    156
    Location:
    New Jersey
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    OK, I have been allowing users to send as nobody with bulletin boards and such for quite some time, but as the nature of the beast I am tired of receiving all of their unable to send messages. How does one go about installing or running the above programs? Are they just in WHM? I see something to check them, but, I am not sure if I have done it right in the past as I generally have an issue as soon as I prevent user nobody.

    Thanks,
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  5. jandafields

    jandafields Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2004
    Messages:
    428
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    168
    Location:
    USA
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    In WHM, choose recompile apache, and it is an option there.
     
  6. cjmwebdesigns

    cjmwebdesigns Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2003
    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    156
    Location:
    New Jersey
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    OK, will try to find this option. As far as turning this on, then how does the mail by the forum user get sent? Instead of nobody@server.com how does it get viewed by the reciever of the e-mail?
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  7. cPanelDavidG

    cPanelDavidG Technical Product Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    11,216
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    313
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    user@server.com where user is their username.
     
  8. cjmwebdesigns

    cjmwebdesigns Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2003
    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    156
    Location:
    New Jersey
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    OK. I found an option for in suexecphp under the tab for Service Configuration and the option is presently enabled.

    The e-mails still go out as nobody.

    I cannot find the Recompile Apache option.

    I am in root access, as I know this will be a question.

    Thanks,
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  9. cPanelDavidG

    cPanelDavidG Technical Product Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    11,216
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    313
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    To Recompile Apache, in WHM go to Software -> Apache Update
     
  10. cjmwebdesigns

    cjmwebdesigns Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2003
    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    156
    Location:
    New Jersey
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    You learn something new every day, no wonder why setting this option in WHM had not been doing anything, there were more setting to set.

    We are recompiling now. thanks for the help.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  11. cjmwebdesigns

    cjmwebdesigns Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2003
    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    156
    Location:
    New Jersey
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    I have completed this with success, however, would this create any new issues? I have clients running ZenCart and now I am seeing messages that their configure.php is set with the wrong permissions.

    I am also have issues changing those permissions from FTP or cPanel's file manager. I had to go in and change them via root.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  12. jandafields

    jandafields Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2004
    Messages:
    428
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    168
    Location:
    USA
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Yes, things work differently with phpsuexec. You need to study the many differences, especially permissions and even as far as affecting .htaccess files
     
  13. Frimon86

    Frimon86 BANNED

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2007
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    156
    I had this issue before and it was something to do with the mail server, have you checked your mail server?
     
Loading...

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice