The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

My VPS cpanel port was changed by .. a ghost or something..

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Pham Huy Anh, Nov 21, 2014.

  1. Pham Huy Anh

    Pham Huy Anh Registered

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2014
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Hanoi, Vietnam, Vietnam
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hi all,

    Story in short, my cpanel was changed from 2083 to 444 by something I don't know. Since it is changeable , I would like to change it to 8080 so that I can access it from my company firewall. Or at least change back to default one (tired of manually typing 444 all the time).

    Story in full detail:
    ...About more than 1 month ago, my apache server became very unstable and WHM and cpanel auto restart every 5-10 mins or so. Googling the whole night suggested me that recent update from cpanel causes conflict in port 443 (SSL something). I disabled it, apache and WHM went back to normal but cpanel nowhere to be found.

    Days after mailing back and forth , Godaddy supports found out that cpanel port had changed from 2083 to 444. I asked how and why !! But the answer is something like "Sorry, your account is VPS, not dedicated, don't have to tell you details. Go google yourself". Same answer for how to change port to 8080.


    Note: I have googled and browsed the forum but couldn't find the answer.
    Thanks
     
  2. dalem

    dalem Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2003
    Messages:
    2,577
    Likes Received:
    40
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    SLC
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    You can change the cPanel port by editing this line in /var/cpanel/cpanel.config

    port=2082

    & restart

    /usr/local/cpanel/startup


    The port= directive in /var/cpanel/cpanel.config sets the non-SSL port. The SSL port will be one higher
     
  3. 24x7ss

    24x7ss Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2014
    Messages:
    271
    Likes Received:
    16
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    India
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Hello :)

    Also, it seems the VPS is root compromised as the port was changed. I would suggest you to start digging deep to get to the root of how exactly the config got changed.
     
  4. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,854
    Likes Received:
    675
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello :)

    In addition to the previous post, note that you can use the proxy subdomains feature if the standard ports are blocked by your company firewall:

    Proxy Subdomains

    Thank you.
     
  5. Pham Huy Anh

    Pham Huy Anh Registered

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2014
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Hanoi, Vietnam, Vietnam
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Thank you guys!! I am so sorry, was so busy last 2 weeks, didn't have time to apply your technic until 1 hour ago.

    Changing port= 8079 as dalem hinted does help!! No I can do cpanel freely from my company network.

    Now I am studying cPanelMichael's technic, I am so greedy here, want to do WHM as well, mwahaha
     
  6. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,854
    Likes Received:
    675
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
Loading...

Share This Page