The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

My website is giving everyone a 403 & 404 Error page!

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by 247ursites, Jul 25, 2003.

  1. 247ursites

    247ursites Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2003
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Laredo
    Guys, I was wondering if anybody could help me with my website being available to the public. All the files corresponding to my website have been posted to the public_html file in the cpanel file manager. They were uploaded using dreamweaver, everything looks fine but my website is not viewable to the public, "WHY" ? :confused:

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  2. 247ursites

    247ursites Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2003
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Laredo
    I forgot to mention what the page says that come with the 403 error,

    FORBIDDEN
    you dont have acces to this server:(

    see for yourself:

    http://247bowling.com

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  3. Trel

    Trel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2003
    Messages:
    116
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    first make sure you allow access to public_html

    I think 755 is what it should be
    (someone correct me if I'm wrong on that)

    then if you are able to, check cpanel near the bottom if you're on the xskin in the IP deny manger thing to make sure you're not blocking all IPs

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  4. 247ursites

    247ursites Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2003
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Laredo
    Is this correct or not?

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  5. raventec

    raventec Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2003
    Messages:
    120
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I was getting a similar problem but only with frontpage sites and found that frontpage was chowning the public_html directory to user.user chown'ing the directory to user.nobody made the web accessable again, but frontpage couldn't publish to it. Is it frontpage that's causing the trouble?

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  6. Trel

    Trel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2003
    Messages:
    116
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I'm pretty sure that's it, and I'd try that first cause it's simpler than convincing your host to run a chown command

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  7. mmkassem

    mmkassem Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2002
    Messages:
    390
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Egypt
    /home/username should be 711

    public_html 751

    public_html is 750 if fileprotect is enabled
     
    #7 mmkassem, Jul 26, 2003
    Last edited: Jul 26, 2003
  8. donnie

    donnie Active Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2003
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    uk
    To rid out of this B.U.G

    First run :

    /scripts/updatenow


    then run

    /scripts/enablefileprotect

    it will fix the problem :)



    Donnie

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  9. YukFoo

    YukFoo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2002
    Messages:
    135
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Try using WS_FTP or similiar FTP client, make sure you have public_html chmod 755. Also make sure you don't have the directory protected.

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  10. mmkassem

    mmkassem Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2002
    Messages:
    390
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Egypt
    Public_html should not be 755

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  11. anand

    anand Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2002
    Messages:
    1,435
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    India
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    do you have .htaccess in the public_html directory ?? sometimes having a wrong .htaccess file creates trouble.

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  12. 247ursites

    247ursites Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2003
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Laredo
    I wanted to thank you All that have answerd my thread, I m barely reading today because of schhol. I will post which one of the advice giving to me works for all those who have the same problem!

    Thanks Guys! :)

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  13. 247ursites

    247ursites Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2003
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Laredo
    Where and how do I run :

    /scripts/updatenow

    And:

    /scripts/enablefileprotect



    Please tell me cause Im a total newbie to the cpanel!:confused:

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  14. mmkassem

    mmkassem Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2002
    Messages:
    390
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Egypt
    In the Shell (SSH)
    To Access the SSH you need a program like putty.

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  15. 247ursites

    247ursites Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2003
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Laredo
    where do I get putty?

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  16. anand

    anand Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2002
    Messages:
    1,435
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    India
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
  17. anand

    anand Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2002
    Messages:
    1,435
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    India
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
  18. anand

    anand Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2002
    Messages:
    1,435
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    India
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    after you download it, just run the exe file.

    Put the server name/ domain name/ ip of the server in the host name, choose SSH as protocol, click on open.

    It will ask for login as, type root, and press enter, then the root password. you are in shell now. You can type those commands here.

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  19. 247ursites

    247ursites Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2003
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Laredo

    What is my server name/

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  20. anand

    anand Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2002
    Messages:
    1,435
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    India
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    just type in your domain name, it wud connect.

    the server name is like xyz.domain.com, you would have got it from your host when you got the setup done ??

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
Loading...

Share This Page