The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

MyDNS

Discussion in 'Bind / DNS / Nameserver Issues' started by optize, Feb 15, 2012.

  1. optize

    optize Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2005
    Messages:
    144
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Glad to see you guys finally added a MySQL-based DNS server i s there any plans for a MySQL-based DNS resolver to work with DNS clustering? It looks to only work on a local-server level as of right now.
     
    #1 optize, Feb 15, 2012
    Last edited: Feb 15, 2012
  2. cPanelKenneth

    cPanelKenneth cPanel Development
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2006
    Messages:
    4,461
    Likes Received:
    22
    Trophy Points:
    38
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Are you looking to store all zones from the cluster in a single database?
     
  3. optize

    optize Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2005
    Messages:
    144
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I want it to behave the exact same way it currently does with bind.

    Shared servers send API calls to ns1/ns2, it creates the bind zone file, the only difference would be it would create the DB entries on ns1/ns2.

    It takes a good 30 minutes to load up bind everytime one of those nameserver boxes reboots, it would be great if we could move them to MyDNS to avoid that wait.
     
  4. cPanelKenneth

    cPanelKenneth cPanel Development
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2006
    Messages:
    4,461
    Likes Received:
    22
    Trophy Points:
    38
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    You can use MyDNS in a cPanel DNS Cluster. MyDNS will need installed on each node.
     
  5. optize

    optize Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2005
    Messages:
    144
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Okay, maybe I'm a little confused... How do you convert cPanel to use MyDNS instead of bind? I don't see it as an option...
     
  6. cPanelKenneth

    cPanelKenneth cPanel Development
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2006
    Messages:
    4,461
    Likes Received:
    22
    Trophy Points:
    38
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    This document should address your questions and confusion:

    Using MyDNS-NG with cPanel & WHM

    Please let us know if there are areas inadequately addressed by the documentation.
     
  7. optize

    optize Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2005
    Messages:
    144
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    My DNSONLY build is on WHM 11.30.6.3 - X 3.9 and won't let me update to anything other than stable.
     
  8. optize

    optize Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2005
    Messages:
    144
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    FWIW, I opened up a ticket with support and they told me DNSONLY doesn't support MyDNS yet...

    On a related topic, will there be a /scripts/rebuilddnszones for MyDNS? Hopefully I won't have the same problems I do with bind but sometimes zones disappear from named.conf, if this still happens with MyDNS, I assume there will be a script to re-generate the domains db table?
     
Loading...

Share This Page