The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

mysql 4.012

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Jump, Mar 29, 2003.

  1. Jump

    Jump Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2003
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Hi there. First post. I have been an end user of c-panel for some time. Now that I got my own VPS I naturally went with C-Panel. I have one question. I manaually instaled mysql 4.012. Will I have a problem when the next C-Panel update comes? And when will C-Panel udate to the latest mysql? Thanks. :)
     
  2. Sketch

    Sketch Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2003
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Baltimore, MD
  3. Jump

    Jump Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2003
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Yep that was me Sketch. And yes others do have that problem as I found out on these boards. I have gone back to the old version and wait patiently. *tap tap tap:D
     
  4. jmr

    jmr Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2002
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Compatibility

    Isnt it the database structure that has changed from 3x to 4x?

    If so wouldnt

    mysql_fix_privilege_tables <rootpassword>

    fix the compatibility problem?

    Also you can always keep the shared libraries for 3 and 4 by

    rpm -ivh --force --oldpackage MySQL-shared-3.23.xxx.i386.rpm

    and then reinstallling the shared 4 rpm

    rpm -ivh --force MySQL-shared-4.0.12-0.i386.rpm


    Forgive me if im barkin up the wrong tree here - ive not actually investigated how Cpanel/WHM works with mysql and how the two interact.

    Just some thoughts on the idea - I would love to see this on Cpanel sooner as we have 4x on Ensim and the difference is very very good indeed.
     
  5. jmr

    jmr Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2002
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Testing

    Well test if you wish.....I cant guarantee anything :)


    We have a box thats gonna be available in a few days to test this on also so we can also see if it works.

    As i mentioned i dont know the intergration between Cpanel/WHM and Mysql
     
  6. jmr

    jmr Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2002
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    errors?

    Any errors to report?

    Looking good so far??

    Not yet got a free Cpanel box to test it on....we have it installed on Ensim and a large forum user is most impressed.
     
  7. jmr

    jmr Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2002
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Problems

    Got round to placing this on a server - problems are happenin though...whilst mysql works fine and databases work fine its getting restarted every 9-10mins. Did you find this occuring ?
     
    #7 jmr, Apr 3, 2003
    Last edited: Apr 3, 2003
  8. Sketch

    Sketch Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2003
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Baltimore, MD
    This is what was stated as the original problem. :rolleyes:
     
  9. jmr

    jmr Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2002
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    yeah i realise that :rolleyes:

    but im interested in phantom states he has no problems :D
     
  10. xpBargains

    xpBargains Registered

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2003
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    when will cpanel release update for mysql v4.0.12?
     
  11. Kyle

    Kyle Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2003
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I would also like to know, is anyone "in the know" on this issue??
     
  12. demine0

    demine0 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2003
    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    i have the same issues with mysql 4 here as well. Also if you run the upcp script for whm(the update script that runs every night i think) it installs the rpm's for mysql 3. Which there for screws up mysql 4.

    I REALLY hope cpanel releases mysql 4 support.
     
  13. cPanelNick

    cPanelNick Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2015
    Messages:
    3,426
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    38
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    redhat 7.x+ should be upgraded to mysql 4 tonight. phpmyadmin 2.4.x support will be forcoming shortly afterwards.
     
  14. demine0

    demine0 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2003
    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    YaY!!!!

    Thanks!!

    Im excited!
     
  15. jamesbond

    jamesbond Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2002
    Messages:
    738
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    It did upgrade and everything seems still to be working fine :)
    Just one little thing, in WHM the mysql 4.0.12 status shows FAILED.

    UPDATE: Ok, no more FAILED now, it shows UP now :)
     
    #15 jamesbond, Apr 5, 2003
    Last edited: Apr 5, 2003
  16. xpBargains

    xpBargains Registered

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2003
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    just upgraded using the WHM, website seems to be running fine, but WHM shows:

    "apache (1.3.27 (Unix)) failed"? Is there anything wrong?

    Update: everything is fine now. guess it takes WHM a while to get the apache status right.
     
    #16 xpBargains, Apr 5, 2003
    Last edited: Apr 5, 2003
  17. ahwheelock

    ahwheelock Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2001
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Our servers were upgraded to 4.0.12 tonight through the cpanel upgrade and I've found one issue.

    phpMyAdmin is showing every database on the box, not just the ones for the user's account. I suppose it is possible that our root priviledges on the account I checked cause this, but that seems unlikely since it never happened before.

    Is there something I can do to fix this problem, and if not, will cpanel work on a fix ASAP. Obviously...showing all the table names in phpMyAdmin isn't great at all.

    If I can run a simple fix, will someone let me know what it is.
     
  18. www-lab

    www-lab Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2003
    Messages:
    62
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    I think it's possible to is turn this off in phpmyadmin config file. Correct me if I'm wrong
     
  19. pfmartin

    pfmartin Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2001
    Messages:
    167
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Earth
    Yes, I can also confirm that phpMyAdmin is showing all databases on the server! Good news is that so far you cannot edit/view the databases for other users. But it's still a bad thing. Please fix! :)
     
  20. inteltechs

    inteltechs Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2003
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    yeah... please fix it :)...
     
Loading...

Share This Page