The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

mysql 4.1 and my forum

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by kahlid123, Jun 3, 2006.

  1. kahlid123

    kahlid123 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2003
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    after i upgrade mysql to 4.1 my forum not workad i got this error

    There seems to have been a problem with the Forums database.
    Please try again by clicking the Refresh button in your web browser.

    An E-Mail has been dispatched to our Technical Staff, whom you can also contact if the problem persists.

    We apologise for any inconvenience
     
  2. cooldude7273

    cooldude7273 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2004
    Messages:
    363
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Roswell, GA
    Make sure you have the box checked that says Use old style (4.0) passwords with mySQL 4.1+ in Tweak Settings
     
  3. tweakservers

    tweakservers Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2006
    Messages:
    379
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    does your forum compatible with the MySQL 4.1 due to the query syntax between MySQL 4.0 and MySQL 4.1 ? there are some major changes on the MySQL 4.0 to MySQL 4.1, do you have a backup copy of your database before it is being upgraded?
     
  4. celliott

    celliott Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2006
    Messages:
    460
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    Open up my.cnf and add the following:

    [mysqld]
    old-passwords.

    I found that the old password feature in cPanel didnt work for me. If there appears to be no connectivity, reset the database password and update your forum configuration file.
     
  5. kahlid123

    kahlid123 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2003
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    do i need to copmile apache wit new mysql?
    yes i have back up
     
  6. kahlid123

    kahlid123 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2003
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    when i put
    [mysqld]
    old mysql password

    mysql didn't start
     
  7. kahlid123

    kahlid123 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2003
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    yes it is checked
     
  8. casey

    casey Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2003
    Messages:
    2,303
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    If there is trouble, it will find me
    Yes, you do. It explicitely states that in WHM.
     
Loading...

Share This Page