The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

MySQL 4.1 and oldpasswords

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Blue|Fusion, Mar 6, 2005.

  1. Blue|Fusion

    Blue|Fusion Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2004
    Messages:
    378
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Cleveland, Ohio
    Well I have been running MySQL 4.1 for almost 2 months now without a problem from cPanel, however today, Fantastico started acting up. I have read all over on Netenberg, and elsewhere that this is not a Fantastio problem, but a problem with oldpasswords in cPanel. Well, I confirmed this by creating a new database and mysql user in cPanel manually, and running a test script, I get this error:

    This has never happened until today. I have been running MySQL 4.1.10 for some time now and no other updates or changes have been made recently to the server.

    Any ideas on why cPanel would all of a sudden stop working correctly with MySQL?

    By the way, I confirmed that Tweak Settings has 4.1 selected, and all old installations from Fantastico and manually made databases work just fine. I also ran /scripts/mysqlup and /scripts/upcp --force just now with no change.

    RHEL3u4 2.4.21-27.0.2.ELsmp
    cPanel 10.0.0-CURRENT-142
     
    #1 Blue|Fusion, Mar 6, 2005
    Last edited: Mar 6, 2005
  2. haze

    haze Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2001
    Messages:
    1,550
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    I'm curious what you get when you query rpm with:
    rpm -qa | grep -i mysql
     
  3. Blue|Fusion

    Blue|Fusion Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2004
    Messages:
    378
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Cleveland, Ohio
    On the problematic server:
    root@saturn [~]# rpm -qa | grep -i MySQL
    MySQL-bench-4.1.10-0
    MySQL-shared-compat-4.1.10-0
    perl-DBD-MySQL-2.1021-3
    MySQL-embedded-4.1.10-0
    MySQL-shared-4.1.10-0
    MySQL-client-4.1.10-0
    MySQL-devel-4.1.10-0
    MySQL-server-4.1.10-0

    And working server:
    root@ladefoged [~]# rpm -qa | grep -i MySQL
    MySQL-server-4.1.10-0
    MySQL-client-4.1.10-0
    MySQL-shared-4.1.10-0
    MySQL-bench-4.1.10-0
    MySQL-shared-compat-4.1.10-0
    MySQL-embedded-4.1.10-0
    perl-DBD-MySQL-2.1021-3
    MySQL-devel-4.1.10-0
     
    #3 Blue|Fusion, Mar 6, 2005
    Last edited: Mar 6, 2005
  4. Blue|Fusion

    Blue|Fusion Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2004
    Messages:
    378
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Cleveland, Ohio
    Anyone have any ideas? This is also affecting Horde from connecting to it's database. I also reinstalled Fantastico, forced /scripts/upcp, /scripts/everything, /scripts/mysqlup, re-set mysl root password, and used rpm --force to reinstall the MySQL 4.1.10 RPMs downloaded right from dev.mysql.com.
     
  5. Earendil

    Earendil Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2004
    Messages:
    102
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    /scripts/makecpphp
     
  6. ShaneAus

    ShaneAus Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2005
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
  7. fusioncroc

    fusioncroc Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2004
    Messages:
    261
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    U.K.
    Blue Fusion i just started getting the same problems as well i'll have a go as well at fixing it if i do i'll post back here
     
  8. fusioncroc

    fusioncroc Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2004
    Messages:
    261
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    U.K.
    I did the /scripts/makecpphp and created a new phpbb installation ( from fantastico ) but i get the same errors im going off again to search google


    edit: just remembered this error on fantastico
    All old mysql's work fine



    edit ( again) : works now i think it timedout in between the upcp--force
     
    #8 fusioncroc, Mar 7, 2005
    Last edited: Mar 7, 2005
  9. Blue|Fusion

    Blue|Fusion Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2004
    Messages:
    378
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Cleveland, Ohio
    Still not working for me.

    I ran /scripts/makecpphp, ran /scipts/upcp --force again, and still no change in the results. cPanel's MySQL page creates the user and database without problem, as well as add the user to the db, but when I try to access it, I still get the same error, and as before, the sites that were already on here are running without a problem.

    I don't know if it's a MySQL problem, a cPanel problem, a PHP problem or what. I am running the same versions of all software on other machines and they experience no problems. And this started out of nowhere yesterday, after running the same versions of everything else for weeks.
     
  10. Blue|Fusion

    Blue|Fusion Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2004
    Messages:
    378
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Cleveland, Ohio
    Anyone figure this out yet? I ran /scripts/makecpphp, /scripts/upcp, and with --force options a few times, /scripts/mysqlup, /scripts/fixmysql, uninstalled MySQL completely and reinstalled from official MySQL RPMs, recompiled Apache/PHP, reinstalled Zend Optimizer 2.5.7.

    I am really desperate for some suggestions. I also have added to the above listed Buzilla report.
     
  11. LP-Trel

    LP-Trel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2003
    Messages:
    184
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Nirvana
    Just run these:

    /scripts/makecpphp

    /scripts/easyapache

    Use option 6

    Make sure to check "Use System MySQL" in the PHP settings.

    That should fix any problems you are having. :cool:
     
  12. Blue|Fusion

    Blue|Fusion Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2004
    Messages:
    378
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Cleveland, Ohio
    That doesn't solve the problem either (and should be same if I run update apache in WHM). Plus, all of the sites on here proveiously work fine. Only newly created MySQL users and databases get screwed up like this.
     
  13. Blue|Fusion

    Blue|Fusion Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2004
    Messages:
    378
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Cleveland, Ohio
    Well a temporary fix....

    Add old-passwords to /etc/my.cnf under [mysqld].

    I do hope whoever needs tp fix this stuff, gets it worked out for the new passwords, however does anybody know if I ever had to restore all my cPanel accounts if the MySQL would use the new passwords if 4.1 is installed with the default my.cnf, or would I have to edit it witht he old-passwords directive for it to use the old passwords like now? Or if everything starts using the new passwords, there's no sense in using old ones, and can hopefully then convert old ones to new ones somehow?
     
  14. sHORTYWZ

    sHORTYWZ Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2003
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Try running this:

    /scripts/perlinstaller --force DBD::mysql

    Solved my problems with the client authentication method stuff with some other programs, maybe it'll help you out.
     
  15. Blue|Fusion

    Blue|Fusion Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2004
    Messages:
    378
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Cleveland, Ohio
    I have the perl-DBD-MySQL RPM installed from RHN on all of the servers, including those that do work. Would it make a different if I did it that way?

    Besides, I believe that's Perl stuff only. Everything I'm having problems with is the PHP mostly.
     
  16. sHORTYWZ

    sHORTYWZ Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2003
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    I ended up having to force a reinstall in order for the module to update itself to work with 4.1.

    You're right, it'll probably only help with perl stuff, but who knows - it won't hurt anything =)
     
  17. Blue|Fusion

    Blue|Fusion Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2004
    Messages:
    378
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Cleveland, Ohio
    It seems all the stuff only works with the old passwords, including php 4.3.10 (atleast as far as I can tell), so I would assume having the old-passwords option in my.cnf is pretty much necessary running cPanel?
     
  18. XPerties

    XPerties Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2003
    Messages:
    401
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    New Jersey, USA
    I'm having the same issue here. I have done

    [1] Updated to WHM 10.0.0 cPanel 10.1.0-C23
    [2] Add old-passwords to /etc/my.cnf under [mysqld].
    [3] /scripts/perlinstaller --force DBD::mysql
    [4] /scripts/makecpphp
    [5] /scripts/easyapache - Use option 6, check "Use System MySQL" in the PHP settings.

    Nothing worked until [5] which fixed my issue. I'm not familiar with "Use System MySQL" in the PHP settings so I hope no issues will arise by using that selection.
     
  19. Blue|Fusion

    Blue|Fusion Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2004
    Messages:
    378
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Cleveland, Ohio
    From what I can tell, it used MySQL for htpasswd information instead of a file. It's more of a centralized database for it, which I never used. I could be wrong. Perhaps something I need to Google up on.
     
  20. plake

    plake Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2003
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    I have had the same issue on one server with two databases.... trying option 5 with use system mysql... see if it fixes it... :)
     
Loading...

Share This Page