The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

MySQL 4 upgrade killed my server.

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by bmcpanel, Apr 6, 2003.

  1. bmcpanel

    bmcpanel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2002
    Messages:
    546
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Woke up early in the morning as my server paged me to tell me one of my servers was down.

    Checked it out and found httpd was down. SSH to the server and ran a httpd configtest and found an error with auth_mysql module, which prevented HTTPd from restarting.

    Commented out that line and restarted httpd and it came back up.

    This seems to have resulted from the MySQL 4 upgrade that was pushed last night. Anyway, just thought I'd let others know. I have this particular server set for bleeding edge. Yes, I know that I should expect things like this with bleeding edge. I am not mad, just wanted to let others know.
     
  2. WildWayz

    WildWayz Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2001
    Messages:
    209
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Happening to me too - and I am using STABLE release.

    James
     
  3. brianteeter

    brianteeter Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2002
    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Same here. Its happened on 3 servers already - 20 more to go... Uggh.

    Why is CPanel adding this module anyways?

    Thanks - Brian
     
  4. WildWayz

    WildWayz Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2001
    Messages:
    209
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Not only that, MySQL is now crashing every 5mins and restarting :/
    VERY peeved off
     
  5. JeremyV

    JeremyV Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2002
    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Everything has been working fine over here... stable tree
     
  6. gmarton

    gmarton Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2003
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Same here. Everything worked fine.
    Redhat 7.3
    Had a problem with phpMyAdmin displaying all tables, but /usr/bin/mysql_fix_privilege_tables fixed it. After the update mysql seemed to have died because the email that /scripts/upcp sent out had 'mysqld ended' at the very end, so i hurried to see if it was up and it was.
     
  7. Radio_Head

    Radio_Head Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2002
    Messages:
    2,051
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    for me usr/bin/mysql_fix_privilege_tables does not fixed the problem , neither /scripts/updatenow;/scripts/fixmysql fixed the problem on phpmyadmin (users seeing all users databases)
     
  8. Sketch

    Sketch Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2003
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Baltimore, MD
    come on Cpanel people. This is mission critical. Give us a fix, please. ;)
     
  9. cPanelNick

    cPanelNick Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2015
    Messages:
    3,426
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    38
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Why did you install auth_mysql (this had to be selected as an advanced option .. its not installed by default, The menu also displays (not frontpage or php compatible) )?
     
  10. pr-design

    pr-design Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2003
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    i am yet another whose server and all sites are down due to this loadmodule error.
     
  11. cPanelNick

    cPanelNick Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2015
    Messages:
    3,426
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    38
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Its real simple to remove the module

    Just remove the loadmodule and addmodule lines in httpd.conf and restart httpd.
     
  12. Sketch

    Sketch Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2003
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Baltimore, MD
    Commenting that module did not work. Also, running /scripts/easyapache did not work. HTTP will not restart. Not good.
     
  13. Sketch

    Sketch Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2003
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Baltimore, MD
    Nevermind :sheepish grin: Forgot to comment AddModule too...
     
  14. TheVoice

    TheVoice Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2002
    Messages:
    105
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I had this problem and it was easy to fix. Run /scripts/easyapache and choose option 6. Make sure you enable mod_auth_mysql before exiting the confiruration screen. Now go head exit it so that it compiles everything. After doing that it fixed the problem for me.
     
  15. MarkB

    MarkB Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2003
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    This is happening for me, too. Is there someway to stop this happening? My email is flooded with database error emails every 9 minutes! :(
     
  16. WildWayz

    WildWayz Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2001
    Messages:
    209
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    here is what Nick told me...

    since he did that, all is working now :)

    James
     
  17. MarkB

    MarkB Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2003
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    No idea what that means... :B

    What command do you use to fix that?
     
  18. WildWayz

    WildWayz Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2001
    Messages:
    209
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    He did it for me... think the command is
    chattred -i /etc/chkserv.d/interchange
    /scripts/updatenow

    Someone else might know for sure tho...

    James
     
  19. MarkB

    MarkB Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2003
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    I've lodged a support request, just to be on the safe side :)

    Thanks!
     
  20. porcupine

    porcupine Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2002
    Messages:
    74
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    I dont mean to sound rude.

    But I've watched this romp through a dozen servers by now. All of which are defaulted (and still set) to use the *STABLE* update set. Why was this not properly tested (i mean come on, this is obviously NOT a isolated incident here). I assume when i configure a CPanel server to use the stable update set that the stable releases will have had weeks/months of prior testing through the other prior releases eg. "edge" and "release".

    I'm sure most of the people here pay an arm and a leg for CPanel, some in the tens of thousands of dollars per month. Don't get me wrong, i *LOVE* CPanel, but doesen't this strike anyone else as a apparent lack of proper testing? If you can't test something before hand, shove it into the edge release, not the stable one, PLEASE.

    Regards,
     
Loading...

Share This Page