Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!

mysql backups & collations

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by kahoz, Mar 16, 2008.

  1. kahoz

    kahoz Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2003
    Messages:
    78
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    156
    Location:
    Portugal
    Hello everyone,

    I have a database on a cPanel server and the tables are in the "latin1_swedish_ci" collation.

    But when I use the cPanel backup page to download a database all the foreign characters are all messy and the backup becomes trash...

    I also tried to use the export tool on phpMyAdmin but it doesn't work maybe because the DB is too big (~ 150MB).. could you help me with this?

    Thanks in advance ;)
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  2. duranduran

    duranduran Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2004
    Messages:
    198
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    I have the same problem here.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. cPanelKenneth

    cPanelKenneth cPanel Development
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2006
    Messages:
    4,563
    Likes Received:
    42
    Trophy Points:
    308
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Define "foreign characters" please.

    If these are characters outside latin1 parameters, then the problem is in the encoding chosen for the table/database/server and explains why you see this behavior from both PHPMyAdmin and cPanel.

    You should read the MySQL documentation on such matters: http://dev.mysql.com/doc/refman/5.0/en/internationalization-localization.html
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  4. kahoz

    kahoz Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2003
    Messages:
    78
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    156
    Location:
    Portugal
    é ã ê à õ etc.

    these characters on the sql file apear as ó çõ ú and others of the same type. :(
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  5. adinet

    adinet Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2005
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Try opening with WordPad instead of Notepad and u'll get your characters back ;)
     
  6. kahoz

    kahoz Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2003
    Messages:
    78
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    156
    Location:
    Portugal
    I use WordPad ;)

    And when I import the .sql file to another database (using source on the command line), the foreign characters continue all messy. :(
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
Loading...

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice