The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Mysql Bandwith in cPanel

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Freezer, Sep 1, 2005.

  1. Freezer

    Freezer Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2005
    Messages:
    120
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Den Haag
    Hi,

    my current situation is that i have my cPanel server to be a remote Mysql server for my other cpanel server. But how can i display or see how much Bandwidth mysql is using?

    Is this possible to edit a conf somewhere? I tried searching here, but maybe with the wrong keywords :)

    Thanks in advance.
     
  2. chirpy

    chirpy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2002
    Messages:
    13,475
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Go on, have a guess
    AFAIK, there's no way to do so in WHM/cPanel. You would have to install a third-party port monitoring app to do something like that.
     
  3. Freezer

    Freezer Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2005
    Messages:
    120
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Den Haag
    Do you have an advice wht will do? A separate mrtg on port 3306?
     
  4. Freezer

    Freezer Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2005
    Messages:
    120
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Den Haag
    But isn't there somewhere a config file where you can specify the ports on whic mrtg is listening? Or are those graphs not from mrtg?
     
  5. chirpy

    chirpy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2002
    Messages:
    13,475
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Go on, have a guess
    cPanel doesn't use MRTG. If you want to setup your own MRTG monitoring then of course you can do that.
     
  6. Freezer

    Freezer Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2005
    Messages:
    120
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Den Haag
    Just out of curiousity, what do they use then?
     
  7. chirpy

    chirpy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2002
    Messages:
    13,475
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Go on, have a guess
    They create their graphs using RRDTool and source the data from various log files.
     
  8. IRCBrasil

    IRCBrasil Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2004
    Messages:
    93
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Someone have some script to track mysql remote bandwith?
     
  9. GCIS

    GCIS Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2006
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    You could set up a network monitor to watch all MySQL traffic, but honestly, this is a waste of your time. Remote MySQL connections should not be using enough bandwidth to be of any concern. If they are, you need to re-evaluate your infrastructure choices.
     
  10. IRCBrasil

    IRCBrasil Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2004
    Messages:
    93
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    just a last question:

    Lets say one account at my server connect to a remote mysql server, there are some way to track this bandwith per user? someone have some kind of script for it ?
     
  11. IRCBrasil

    IRCBrasil Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2004
    Messages:
    93
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    I am using configserver firewall, and both TCP IN and OUT the port 3306 is blocked, but when I do a netstat -anpx | grep 3306, I receive this:

    where 11.11.11.11 is the main ip of my server, and 99.99.99.99 is an remote mysql that an account is conected. My question, how it is connected if the port is blocket in firewall?
     
Loading...

Share This Page