The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

MySQL corruption?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by cyberstrider, Sep 29, 2008.

  1. cyberstrider

    cyberstrider Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2008
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Seems that we re now finding other issues with our cpanel installation..

    We have had cpanel running since the beginning of July, and have happily been placing customers accounts on the serve.

    Now it looks like mysql got corrupted on or before yesterday... so we have a corrupted mysql dataset. :-(

    We think (although not sure) it is because the mysql user could not write stuff due to quota limitations. As this user runs all the databases, it has resulted in very corrupt data files.

    It seems the mysql user was restricted by the looks of it.

    What is effected: anyone using mysql on the server.

    Is our analysis correct?

    How can it be fixed? (is trying to rebuild the corrupt dataset on another server and the porting back in an option?)

    How can this be prevented in the future?

    Any idea on what we may have done wrong?

    -DB
     
  2. alpc360

    alpc360 Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2007
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Hello.

    You can probe with it.

    /scripts/cleanupmysqlprivs - Cleans up improper mySQL privileges.
    /scripts/fixmysql - Fixes problems with mySQL
    /scripts/mysqlup - Updates mySQL.

    Greetings.
     
  3. cyberstrider

    cyberstrider Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2008
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Thanks for the pointers... should we have given MySQL an unlimited quota to start with?

    -DB
     
  4. alpc360

    alpc360 Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2007
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Hello,

    The quotas is create in the accounts of cPanel/WHM or in the packages.

    Greetings!
     
  5. cPanelKenneth

    cPanelKenneth cPanel Development
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2006
    Messages:
    4,461
    Likes Received:
    22
    Trophy Points:
    38
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    The MySQL system user should never have a quota.
     
Loading...

Share This Page