The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

mysql databse upload via cpanel

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by ezryder, Apr 30, 2004.

  1. ezryder

    ezryder Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2004
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Hi,
    I have developed a database on my local machine in mySQL. I have webhosting with cpanel. Is there any way of copying my database from my local machine to my host via cpanel or do I have to write individual sql statements?

    Thanks,
    ez
     
  2. mickalo

    mickalo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2002
    Messages:
    765
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    N.W. Iowa
    What table type are you using InnoDB, MYSIAM,..etc ??

    Mickalo
     
  3. B12Org

    B12Org Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2003
    Messages:
    692
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Seattle Washington
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    You can use phpmyadmin to upload a dump, or basically import a text file with all the commands to rebuild the database. As long as your not using MS sql server it should be fine, as MS Sql adds a few extra commands in there that are not ANSI compliant.
     
  4. ezryder

    ezryder Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2004
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I have searched for how to create a dump but I can't find a tutorial. Do you know where there is one I can use please? - (OK I found how to make a dump in windows) for reference:

    open a dos command prompt

    change directory to mysql\bin (depending on where mysql is located)

    Type this:

    mysqldump.exe --user=accountname --password=password name of database >path to backup to/filename

    Mickalo - How do I find out the table type? is this the table type on my local machine or the server?

    Thanks
     
    #4 ezryder, May 1, 2004
    Last edited: May 1, 2004
  5. B12Org

    B12Org Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2003
    Messages:
    692
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Seattle Washington
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I believe the table type is on your local machine, where your server is running no?

    Anyways, if you have a dump it should be enough to import it into phpmyadmin via cpanel. That "should" :p recreate an exact duplicate of your db onto the new server.
     
  6. ezryder

    ezryder Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2004
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I couldn't find it on my local machine, but I have managed to recreate my database on my server with the dump. Thanks!
     
  7. B12Org

    B12Org Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2003
    Messages:
    692
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Seattle Washington
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    np bud, thats why we are here
     
Loading...

Share This Page