The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Mysql-front

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by jzanzinger, Feb 28, 2003.

  1. jzanzinger

    jzanzinger Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2003
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Trying to make connection to MYSQL-FRONT, an alternative to phpMyAdmin. MYSQL-FRONT requires the username to be user@localip i.e.(jeff@65.22.12.112). cPanel removes the periods and @ in the ip when I try to create a user name in the required form (i.e. chnages jeff@65.22.12.112 to domain_jeff652212112). I'de like to root shell to mysql add the username. QUESTION: will this mess up the cPanel or WHM web interface? Any suggestions are greatly appreciated.
     
  2. Svaha

    Svaha Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2003
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I use mySQL- front version 2.2. I do not need to use a username in that format.

    I simply configure a username in cpanel, and use that. For instance db_user might be my username.

    In mySQL- front I simply enter the database name as it appears in cpanel, hostname or IP address, the username as above, password, and it connects.

    MySQL-front is a great tool, it's too bad it's no longer being developed. Still the best thing out there though.
     
  3. jzanzinger

    jzanzinger Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2003
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Version 2.5 works diferent and requires the username@ip_address. I have to agree the mysql front interface is remarkable. Could you possibly email version 2.2 to me. Thank you for your reply.
     
  4. casey

    casey Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2003
    Messages:
    2,303
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    If there is trouble, it will find me
  5. jzanzinger

    jzanzinger Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2003
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Thanks for your reply's. I installed version 2.2 had same problem as before so I shelled in as root in mysql and created a new user with the domain pointing to the IP of my remote machine. Works great! I will have a problem with my remote machine on DHCP as the IP changes when the cable box is turned off. Guess I'll just have to change the IP in the mysql user table or perhaps use %. I reinstalled ver 2.5 and here's why

    New features:
    - Refresh host status via popup menu
    - Set column widths in the Data-Tab (right click on headers)
    - reimplemented "Set Filter"-Form

    Fixed bugs:
    - auto-refresh processlist works again
    - "rename table" does not crash (some problems remain)
    - connection time in status bar works even if there is more than one connection
    - some problems fixed when executing querys with more than one statement or no result rows.
    - can't add fields with empty fieldnames any more.
     
Loading...

Share This Page