The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

mysql & HIGH server load, please help

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by SoftDux, Feb 27, 2007.

  1. SoftDux

    SoftDux Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2006
    Messages:
    983
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Johannesburg, South Africa
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hi

    For the past few days I have noticed the server load sky rocket, so much, that I cannot access it, either via WHM or SSH. At one stage, I was able to logon, and saw that MySQL has skyrocketed the server's load.

    At first I thought it's a "trouble" account, but then noticed the top three accounts constanly change, but MySQL is constanly at the top, when running top in SSH mode.

    Can someone please assist me with this?

    Here's the server specs:


     
  2. picoleto

    picoleto Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2006
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    have you tried logging into mysql when you notice the load is high and doing a

    show full processlist;

    ?
     
  3. SoftDux

    SoftDux Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2006
    Messages:
    983
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Johannesburg, South Africa
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    This is the second "bit" of the same output....

     
  4. SoftDux

    SoftDux Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2006
    Messages:
    983
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Johannesburg, South Africa
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I have, but don't know what to look for.....

    Here's the current output (at this moment)


    Running "top" at the same time (pressing shift - m)

    What do you suggest?
     
  5. brendanrtg

    brendanrtg Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2006
    Messages:
    311
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    ANy chance you are on a VPS? Maybe reducing the number for mysql connections might help but of course you would still be better off finding the culprit.
     
  6. SoftDux

    SoftDux Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2006
    Messages:
    983
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Johannesburg, South Africa
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    This is on a VPS, and I have set the max_connections in my.cf to 300.
     
  7. kernow

    kernow Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2004
    Messages:
    865
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    18
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Am no expert but i think you should investigate this;
    Code:
    converting HEAP to MyISAM
     
  8. SoftDux

    SoftDux Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2006
    Messages:
    983
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Johannesburg, South Africa
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I'm not 100% sure what that is, and why, nor what impact it could have, so if anyone could tell me more, it would be nice :)
     
Loading...

Share This Page