The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

mysql keeps failing

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by NNNils, Apr 4, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. NNNils

    NNNils Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2002
    Messages:
    580
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    mysql keeps failing, when doing a restart through WHM it says:

    ------------------
    Attempting to restart mysql
    Waiting for mysql to restart.... . . . . . . . . . . finished.

    mysql status mysql did not return a status report

    mysql started ok
    -------------------

    But it keeps red in service status and I keep getting messages about it every 10 minutes.

    NB: I am not using this server yet, so there are no accounts on it that would use mysql.

    I also tried restarting / starting through ssh, which didn't seem to help much either.
     
  2. NNNils

    NNNils Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2002
    Messages:
    580
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    What was also strange: the server used >80% of its memory, while no-one used the server yet.

    I now rebooted, still having same problem, but mem usage is now 8%
     
  3. DigiCrime

    DigiCrime Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2002
    Messages:
    399
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    i get this once in a while on WHM, says that services failed but their running anyway. shell in, run top and see if its even running or type ps ax and look there. after about 10 mins or so WHM will report them as up and running. although i was running low on disk space at the time, but since then fixed it. Anyway you can also see if it gives you any errors from bash prompt... service mysql stop|start
     
  4. NNNils

    NNNils Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2002
    Messages:
    580
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Yup, I know sometimes it shows up red in service status but is running anyway.

    But I never had it send out e-mail and being running.

    I checked with top and it's not there.

    When typing /etc/rc.d/init.d/mysql restart it says:

    Usage: mysql { start | stop }

    When typing /etc/rc.d/init.d/mysql { start | stop } it says:

    Arguments should be jobs or process IDs

    When typing /etc/rc.d/init.d/mysql start

    it goes back to prompt without further info.
     
  5. DigiCrime

    DigiCrime Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2002
    Messages:
    399
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    right. you can only start or stop mysql, its telling you what option you have to start or stop. if you start it and it goes back to the bash prompt then everything is fine, if there was something wrong it would let you know ;)
     
  6. NNNils

    NNNils Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2002
    Messages:
    580
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Yes so everything SEEMS fine, but it isn't, cause I keep getting these every 10/15 minutes:

    mysql failed @ Sat Apr 5 00:51:10 2003. A restart was attempted automagicly.

    Is there maybe some log I should check?
     
  7. demine0

    demine0 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2003
    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    are you running mysql 4?
     
  8. rickyliu

    rickyliu Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2002
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    same problem here.

    mysql is still 3.23. not 4.
     
  9. NNNils

    NNNils Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2002
    Messages:
    580
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Nope this has nothing to do with the upgrade.
     
  10. WildWayz

    WildWayz Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2001
    Messages:
    209
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    it's happening to me too - but I have MySQL 4 (it installed it last night!). VERY VERY annoying!
    Also, it killed apache 'cos it made 2 entries in httpd.conf that wouldn't load some libraries (mod_mysql.so and a .c I think)

    James
     
  11. NNNils

    NNNils Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2002
    Messages:
    580
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    When clicking Change an User or Database password in WHM it says MySQL not installed.
     
  12. ice53ltd

    ice53ltd Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2002
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I'm getting this too and it is VERY annoying!!!

    I am beginning to think CPanel is more like some early 90s version 1 shareware than software that is worth good money!
     
  13. NNNils

    NNNils Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2002
    Messages:
    580
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    My problem seems to be result of using freebsd, I am going to reinstall the machine with redhat.
     
  14. rqsweat

    rqsweat Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2003
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    New Jersey
    I'm having the problem also
     
  15. NNNils

    NNNils Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2002
    Messages:
    580
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Does this help for any of you:

    /scripts/updatenow
    /scripts/fixmysql
     
  16. rqsweat

    rqsweat Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2003
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    New Jersey
  17. uv3net

    uv3net Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2003
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Canada
    I have same problem, and i receive from cpanel team to do this but it not work for me.
     
  18. rqsweat

    rqsweat Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2003
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    New Jersey
    mysql (4.0.12)
    cpanel 6.4.0
    WHM 6.2.0
     
  19. cPanelNick

    cPanelNick Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2015
    Messages:
    3,426
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    38
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    make sure you have run

    /sbin/service chkservd restart

    if you are still having a problem
     
  20. uv3net

    uv3net Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2003
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Canada
    Not working for me

    and i also tried:
    /scripts/upcp

    /scripts/updatenow
    /scripts/fixmysql

    none work, i already see in whm that mysql failed even if mysql work well
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page