The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

MySQL privilages revert back after changing in phpMyAdmin.

Discussion in 'Database Discussions' started by camperjohn, Dec 12, 2007.

  1. camperjohn

    camperjohn Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2007
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I am having a persistant problem with CPanel resetting the MySQL privilages tables.

    1) I created a database
    2) I set the privilages in PHP Myadmin
    3) Everything works fine
    4) 18 hours later Cpanel has reset them and obliterated my changes.

    Here is more info:

    - I have created the table from SSH, with ROOT access.
    - I added the permissions, using root access like so:

    mysql_query("DELETE FROM USER WHERE USER='bd_bigmetal'@'204.15.192.194';");
    mysql_query("REVOKE ALL PRIVILEGES ON * . * FROM 'bd_bigmetal'@'204.15.192.194';");
    mysql_query("REVOKE GRANT OPTION ON * . * FROM 'bd_bigmetal'@'204.15.192.194';");
    mysql_query("FLUSH PRIVILEGES;");
    mysql_query("GRANT ALL PRIVILEGES ON * . * TO 'bd_bigmetal'@'204.15.192.194' IDENTIFIED BY '$pass' WITH MAX_QUERIES_PER_HOUR 0 MAX_CONNECTIONS_PER_HOUR 0 MAX_UPDATES_PER_HOUR 0 ;");

    - The permissions tables appear to be obliterated at the same time CPanel does some update (but I can't tell what kind of update)

    - I have also added my IP to the "Additional Hosts" in the MySQL section of Cpanel, hoping that would make a difference.

    - Once the Privilages are reset, my connection error to MySQL is :Access denied for user 'bd_bigmetal'@'204.15.192.194' to database 'bd_bigmetal'


    What other information can I supply that could help anyone diagnose this?


    john@mccarthy.net
     
    #1 camperjohn, Dec 12, 2007
    Last edited: Dec 12, 2007
  2. cPanelDavidG

    cPanelDavidG Technical Product Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    11,279
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I have a question, have you tried setting the privileges via the cPanel interface? Or is there a specific reason for not using the cPanel interface?
     
  3. camperjohn

    camperjohn Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2007
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I have tried but it wont allow me to add users and privilages unless the database was also created with Cpanel.

    For example, I have two databases bd_application, and bd_bigmetal. I created the database outside of cpanel, since I dont want the database tied to any domain. If I make the database through the doamin, it calls it domain_bd_bigmetal and domain_bd_application, I don't want the leading "domain_" as part of the database name.

    I do not want the database tied to the domain, since at some point I will get a seperate LAMP server that just has the database on it, while the domain continues to host the content.

    Is there a way to create the database as root in the whm panel, rather than as the domain in cpanel?

    The deletion of privilages is tied to the update of cpanel. I know this because I get alerts about my perl not being up to date (but I dont use perl), then BAM the privilages go away.

    I can send you more information on this if you need. Just ask

    I am really stumped.
     
Loading...

Share This Page