The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

mysql upgraded version not showing in Cpanel

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by asiams, Oct 14, 2007.

  1. asiams

    asiams Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2003
    Messages:
    89
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Hokkaido, JAPAN
    Hello,

    I have upgraded my mysql 4 to 5 recently along with Apache 2.2/PHP5.2.4. However, mysql was upgraded to version 5, but Cpanel does not show the upgrade.

    On phpmyadmin says: server version: 5.0.45-community-log, mysql client version: 4.1.22.

    How can I show the upgrade version in Cpanel?

    Any idea?

    Thanks.

    asiams
     
  2. mtindor

    mtindor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2004
    Messages:
    1,281
    Likes Received:
    37
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    inside a catfish
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I also recently upgraded to MySQL (5.0.27). I have the same problem - Log into a customer account via /cpanel and it shows it still as 4.1.22-standard.

    Mike
     
  3. cPanelKenneth

    cPanelKenneth cPanel Development
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2006
    Messages:
    4,461
    Likes Received:
    22
    Trophy Points:
    38
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Remove the _usr_sbin_mysqld_--version file from /home/user/.cpanel/datastore
     
    #3 cPanelKenneth, Oct 15, 2007
    Last edited: Oct 15, 2007
  4. jdearing

    jdearing Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2003
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    How do you get cPanel to upgrade mysql beyond 5.0.27?

    I'm running the current RELEASE version and that is the latest version I can get cPanel to upgrade mysql to.
     
  5. asiams

    asiams Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2003
    Messages:
    89
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Hokkaido, JAPAN
    That did the trick, Thanks.

    Hello cpanelkenneth,

    Thank you for your help. That did the trick to resolve right.
    I am running the following:

    WHM 11.11.0 cPanel 11.15.0-C17665
    CENTOS Enterprise 4.5 i686 on standard - WHM X v3.1.0

    This current version of Cpanel did it for me.

    asiams
     
  6. cPanelKenneth

    cPanelKenneth cPanel Development
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2006
    Messages:
    4,461
    Likes Received:
    22
    Trophy Points:
    38
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    MySQL 5.0.45 is only in EDGE and Current.
     
  7. Fernis

    Fernis Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2006
    Messages:
    192
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    If I am running current what is the best way to upgrade MySQL from 5.0.27 to 5.0.45?
     
  8. cPanelKenneth

    cPanelKenneth cPanel Development
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2006
    Messages:
    4,461
    Likes Received:
    22
    Trophy Points:
    38
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Make a backup of your databases (if you don't already have a current backup).

    Execute /scripts/mysqlup

    Optionally add the --verbose flag to see more of what is happening.
     
  9. cPanelNick

    cPanelNick Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2015
    Messages:
    3,426
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    38
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    If your version is out of sync you can force the cache to update by running:

    perl -e "use lib '/usr/local/cpanel'; use Cpanel::FileUtils; use Cpanel::DbUtils; Cpanel::FileUtils::touchfile( Cpanel::DbUtils::find_mysqld() ); "
     
  10. cPanelNick

    cPanelNick Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2015
    Messages:
    3,426
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    38
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    Should be 'auto solved' in 17679+ if you have mysql updates on.
     
  11. Francisco

    Francisco Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2003
    Messages:
    99
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6

    If you are using RELEASE, can you force or install anything newer than mysql 5.0.27?
     
  12. apn3a

    apn3a Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2007
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I have the same exact issue, however this trick did NOT work for me.

    phpmyadmin both in WHM and cpanel shows:

    Server version: 5.0.27-standard
    Protocol version: 10
    Server: Localhost via UNIX socket

    MySQL client version: 4.1.21
    Used PHP extensions: mysql

    just in case i tried to delete the file many times, but it is regenerated. The contents of the file show:

    /usr/sbin/mysqld Ver 5.0.27-standard for unknown-linux-gnu on x86_64 (MySQL Community Edition - Standard (GPL))

    i also tried to mysqlup --force just in case, still the same issue.

    Moreover, I seem to have issues with the php version as well. Although php -v resolves version 5.2.4, cpanel stats still show 4.4.7.

    Can you please help me fix these issues??

    Thank you,

    Minas


    Edit: i managed to fix the php version issue by "Updating to latest version" in cpanel.

    The update showed:

    Updating services & databases...PHP version file has been updated to 5.2.4

    However, the myql version issue was NOT fixed.
    the only thing the update showed was:

    Updating MySQL Server...MySQL Setup Script Version 7.0
    Loaded cPPkgs::MySQL ok!
    This is the cPPkgs::MySQL 5.0.27 installer for Linux.
    MySQL 5.0.27 is up to date
    Install Complete
    ...Done
     
    #12 apn3a, Oct 25, 2007
    Last edited: Oct 25, 2007
  13. cPanelKenneth

    cPanelKenneth cPanel Development
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2006
    Messages:
    4,461
    Likes Received:
    22
    Trophy Points:
    38
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I misunderstood the original issue, thinking it was the display within cPanel, not PHPMyAdmin :rolleyes: TO resolve the client version in PHPMyAdmin, you need to recompile PHP. If this is for the PHP binary used by cPanel, execute /scripts/makecpphp
     
  14. apn3a

    apn3a Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2007
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    thank you for the tip, i did that and now mysql version shows correctly under phpmyadmin. however, postgresql was installed when i run the above command. Do you happen to know how can i uninstall it since i dont need it?
     
  15. mtindor

    mtindor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2004
    Messages:
    1,281
    Likes Received:
    37
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    inside a catfish
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Same thing happened with me, only my postgreSQL didn't build.

    You can probably just remove the RPMs that were installed.

    rpm -qa|grep postgresql
    - remove those RPMs

    Otherwise, just leave them installed as I'm told they won't hurt anything, and you can just shut the service off (assuming CentOS/RH-like systems, do this:

    chkconfig postgresql off
    service postgresql off

    NOTE: You may find that since it installed postgreSQL, your customer Cpanels now have an icon for postgresSQL in the area where the mysql/phpmyadmin stuff is. If you decide to keep postgresql installed, you'll want to go into your Feature manager and disable postgresl so that it isn't shown to customer cpanels.

    Mike
     
  16. cPanelKenneth

    cPanelKenneth cPanel Development
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2006
    Messages:
    4,461
    Likes Received:
    22
    Trophy Points:
    38
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    makecpphp will no longer install PostgreSQL. THanks for the heads up on that.
     
  17. dexus

    dexus Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2006
    Messages:
    169
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    In which cPanel release will that be fixed?
     
  18. cPanelKenneth

    cPanelKenneth cPanel Development
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2006
    Messages:
    4,461
    Likes Received:
    22
    Trophy Points:
    38
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    It was fixed in EasyApache 3 (which is what makecpphp uses) the same day that I reported it fixed: 11-2-2007
     
  19. velda

    velda Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2005
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Utah
    I've just tried these steps to correct the mysql version showing on a user's front page of cpanel, to no avail. I removed the file and even verified that it says the correct mysql version. I also tried removing existing themes and upgrading cpanel to the latest build, so as to get fresh copies of the themeballs. But her cpanel still says mysql 4.xxx and she should be showing 5. Her phpadmin shows the correct version -- just those quick stats on the left side of cpanel do not.

    Any ideas for correcting this?
     
Loading...

Share This Page