The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Mysql Users&Password ?

Discussion in 'Database Discussions' started by replay147, Sep 4, 2009.

  1. replay147

    replay147 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2009
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Hi,

    Where are the files which mysql users password stored?

    I think that if I move this file from my old server to new server, It doesn't need to create all mysql user once more. Only I create database with the old-name. Is it possible?

    Thank you.
     
  2. MattCurry

    MattCurry Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2009
    Messages:
    275
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Houston, Tx
    User passwords

    Hello,


    The good news is this can be done, however the passwords are stored on a table in the database in a hash. This means you could move the database but you would have to create the exact same database name on the server you are moving it to. Please let me know if you need clarification.

    Here is a link to a previous post where they discuss the same isse:
    http://forums.cpanel.net/f7/mysql-site-transfers-6579.html#post27009

    If you get stuck or have a question feel free to ask, or submit a ticket via the link below.

    Thank you,
    Matthew Curry
     
  3. replay147

    replay147 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2009
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Thanks for your reply Matthew.

    First, I create the DB with the same name. And I moved DB from old server to new one.

    I need clarification about which table store the DB_users and passwords. Is it one of my table that I move or another table except one of them?

    Is there a table that store all DB users and passwords?

    Thank you...
     
  4. Spiral

    Spiral BANNED

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2005
    Messages:
    2,023
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    0
    If you are simply migrating from one server to another, there is actually no need to setup or users or databases on the new server ....

    Instead you could do a direct transfer and just simply move your entire
    database server over to the new server all at once in a single step!

    Very easy to do and I do that almost daily helping clients with migrations! ;)
     
  5. replay147

    replay147 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2009
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    How can I do that? My old server panel wasn't Cpanel. I copied all files under /usr/lib/mysql. But I need to open DB users with the same passwords of the old server.
     
Loading...

Share This Page