The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

MySQL

Discussion in 'Database Discussions' started by popeye, Dec 19, 2013.

  1. popeye

    popeye Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2013
    Messages:
    313
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Texas
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hi last night i had to restart MySQL on a vps as something made it crash, but when it did it effected my other server in the dns cluster is this what its meant to do ?


    Also how can i check how much room i have for MySQL the server as 8TB space
     
  2. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,854
    Likes Received:
    676
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello :)

    Try reviewing the MySQL error log (/var/lib/mysql/$hostname.err) to determine the reason it failed. It should not have caused your DNS-Only server to fail. What exactly happened with the cluster? The amount of space used depends on how large your databases are.

    Thank you.
     
  3. popeye

    popeye Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2013
    Messages:
    313
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Texas
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    When the MySQL went down on my vps it effected another cpanel server that i have in the cluster. and it restarted itself ? then i went and restarted the MySQL on the vps and it all worked again.

    i have 8TB of space on the server so will MySQL just use what it needs.
     
  4. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,854
    Likes Received:
    676
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    MySQL databases are stored in:

    /var/lib/mysql/

    It will use whatever space is permitted to the /var partition, or whichever partition is associated with the /var directory.

    Thank you.
     
  5. popeye

    popeye Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2013
    Messages:
    313
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Texas
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Is there a way i check or make it bigger if needed ?
     
  6. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,854
    Likes Received:
    676
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Sure, use the following command to determine how much space is used:

    du -sh /var/lib/mysql

    Then, use "df -h" to see the overall capacity of the partitions.

    Thank you.
     
  7. popeye

    popeye Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2013
    Messages:
    313
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Texas
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hi it says this 1.1G /var/lib/mysql does that mean its only 1gb
     
  8. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,854
    Likes Received:
    676
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
  9. popeye

    popeye Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2013
    Messages:
    313
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Texas
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    [~]# du -sh /var/lib/mysql
    1.1G /var/lib/mysql
    root@tow [~]# 1.1G /var/lib/mysql^C
     
  10. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,854
    Likes Received:
    676
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    It means it's 1.1G of usage. You can compare this to the available space on the partition when using the "df -h" command.

    Thank you.
     
Loading...

Share This Page