The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

mysql

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by ceptik, Sep 23, 2005.

  1. ceptik

    ceptik Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2005
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Question -

    I have an existing customer , that was able to create databases under his cpanel login. Ever since the latest cpanel upgrade , they are not able to create anymore databases in phpmyadmin or the mysql interface.

    I updated my scripts, as directed by a news item in cpanel. I run it on a freebsd 5.4 system with mysql 4.1. I have readded this user, and still to no avail he connect create any databases in mysql.

    Thank you

    ceptik
     
  2. aby

    aby Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2005
    Messages:
    638
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    India
    What is the error it shows when you try to add the new databases. Also please check the package of that domain and see if it has the mysql databases enabled
     
  3. ceptik

    ceptik Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2005
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    mysql error


    It is saying insufficient priviledges when the user tries to create a database in phpadmin. Also with the mysql interface in cpanel, it says database created, but it isnt listed, and when i show databases as root it isnt there. I have defined the user with 8 mysql databases max.
     
  4. aby

    aby Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2005
    Messages:
    638
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    India
    did you check for the databases from the shell, if it is there ?
     
  5. ceptik

    ceptik Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2005
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    databases

    Yes I went to the mysql cli and did a show databases; It did not show the test db that was attempted to be created.
     
  6. aby

    aby Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2005
    Messages:
    638
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    India

    Did you check /var/lib/mysql directory

    Also an upcp can help you.
     
  7. ceptik

    ceptik Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2005
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    db

    I ran the upcp and in /var/lib/mysql has nothing referring to the customers id. I see a few others in there.
     
  8. aby

    aby Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2005
    Messages:
    638
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    India
    Did you try creating new mysql databases after the cpanel update?
     
  9. ceptik

    ceptik Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2005
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    database

    I tried most common things. Like logging in as the customer via cpanel and the unix shell, I tried creating a database by hand under there id. It does say permission denied user@localhost. This leads me to think something happened to the mysql.user access list.
     
Loading...

Share This Page