Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!

N00B Question

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by drewrowland, Oct 19, 2013.

  1. drewrowland

    drewrowland Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2013
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I've done a basic search through the forum and could not find an answer to my quesiton, but I have a feeling that is because it is a simple question and I am sorry for that, either way here it goes.

    When I create a new account I get an e-mail that says this in the subject line: New account on host.example.com (my hostname is already setup) where do I change the setting to say my server info.

    What I am running:

    CentOS 6.4
    CPanel / WHM 11.38.2
     
  2. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    16,570
    Likes Received:
    439
    Trophy Points:
    583
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Those emails are sent out by the system. I don't believe they can be modified. What do you mean exactly that you'd like to change in that email? What server Info?
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. drewrowland

    drewrowland Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2013
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I'm specifically talking about the text host.example.com that should be my own hostname, correct?
     
  4. quietFinn

    quietFinn Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2006
    Messages:
    998
    Likes Received:
    11
    Trophy Points:
    168
    Location:
    Finland
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Yes.
    If it's not go to WHM-> Networking Setup -> Change Hostname
    and change it.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  5. drewrowland

    drewrowland Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2013
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I already had that done, it is still sending emails with the "host.example.com" on the emails.
     
  6. quietFinn

    quietFinn Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2006
    Messages:
    998
    Likes Received:
    11
    Trophy Points:
    168
    Location:
    Finland
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    It's doing that because your server's hostname is not set up correctly.

    Try in ssh command prompt:
    what do you get?

    Does your server happen to be a VPS?
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  7. drewrowland

    drewrowland Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2013
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    It is a vps. However, I got it to work. Going back through and re-saving the hostname via your steps (since the hostname was already set up via the hosting service) fixed the problem.

    Thanks so much! :)
     
Loading...

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice