Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!

Name Change

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by vincy, Mar 26, 2012.

  1. vincy

    vincy Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2012
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hi,

    Please help

    Can I able to change the name of a reseller.

    Thanks in advance.
     
  2. hoststop

    hoststop Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2011
    Messages:
    84
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    56
    Location:
    Bolton, UK
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Do you mean a domain name OR username ? Let us know what exactly you mean by "change the name".
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. cPanelTristan

    cPanelTristan Quality Assurance Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2010
    Messages:
    7,608
    Likes Received:
    32
    Trophy Points:
    238
    Location:
    somewhere over the rainbow
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello,

    In WHM > Account Functions > Modify an Account, you should be able to select the reseller to modify the domain or username. If this is not working for you, please specify what is happening. Please also check /usr/local/cpanel/logs/error_log if any error is occurring and provide the error happening when you attempt to make the change. Finally, please also note the cPanel & WHM version:

    Code:
    cat /usr/local/cpanel/version
    Thanks!
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  4. vincy

    vincy Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2012
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    username of a reseller
     
  5. hoststop

    hoststop Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2011
    Messages:
    84
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    56
    Location:
    Bolton, UK
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Login to WHM and access option Account Functions >> Modify an Account. Here you can change the username for reseller.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  6. cPanelTristan

    cPanelTristan Quality Assurance Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2010
    Messages:
    7,608
    Likes Received:
    32
    Trophy Points:
    238
    Location:
    somewhere over the rainbow
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I already noted that information in my response along with more details previously. vincy, can we please have the error occurring if this is not working to further advise?
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  7. PattyO

    PattyO Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2012
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Brazil
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I need to do the same thing with a reseller, change his username to a new one. Is this going to impact his accounts in anyway? Can it be done now just like a normal account from WHM > Account Functions > Modify an Account?
    Or do I have to do what's described here? http://www.webhostingtalk.com/showpost.php?p=5318104&postcount=3
    WHM docs says:
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
    #7 PattyO, Jun 8, 2012
    Last edited: Jun 8, 2012
  8. cPanelTristan

    cPanelTristan Quality Assurance Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2010
    Messages:
    7,608
    Likes Received:
    32
    Trophy Points:
    238
    Location:
    somewhere over the rainbow
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    You should be able to change the reseller's username in cPanel & WHM 11.32 and higher. If you cannot, please indicate the error message. This was already tested when I did my reply on my own server.

    There should not be issues typically with a username change, but I would always suggest having a full backup of the account prior to making any such changes to the account.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
Loading...

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice