The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Name SEerver help

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Unred, Sep 4, 2003.

  1. Unred

    Unred Registered

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2003
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I need help with my name servers. My box is on Rackshack and I put in the DNS for their stuff ns1.direct-web.org and ns2.direct-web.org (as subbies to auto create kinda)

    I set my box DNS name servers to the same as above.. I'm wondering if I add a domain or a subdomain to my box if I still need to add it to rackshacks DNS table or I can just add it to my box and it'd show up within a couple hours. Because I dont want to have to go through so many steps to get the damn domain to work. Anyway someone can help me setup the DNS for this to get it to do that? thanks.

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  2. Unred

    Unred Registered

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2003
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Dosent anyone know? I'd like to know... Thanks.

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  3. nanabite

    nanabite Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2003
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    No, subdomains need to be added manually to the RackShack DNS if you are not running your own nameserver.

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  4. Unred

    Unred Registered

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2003
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Question is.. How do I set my Rackshack DNS to my server DNS so that my server can act as a nameserver?

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
  5. nanabite

    nanabite Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2003
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    You don't need to. Forget rackshack DNS altogether. Just request a couple of domains, set them up as namservers and then tell customers to change their DNS settings to your own nameservers. There are plenty of guides over at the rackshack forums.

    cPanel.net Support Ticket Number:
     
Loading...

Share This Page