The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Name server question?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by MMarko, May 18, 2005.

  1. MMarko

    MMarko Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2005
    Messages:
    316
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Can I have two names for one name server IP?

    Example

    IP: 5.10.2.1
    NAME1: ns1.example-ns.com
    NAME2: ns1.example.net
     
  2. dalem

    dalem Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2003
    Messages:
    2,577
    Likes Received:
    40
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    SLC
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    yes

    in whm tweek settings
    settings
    put a check in Allow Sharing Nameserver Ips
     
  3. MMarko

    MMarko Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2005
    Messages:
    316
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Great! This will save me a lot of unnecessary work.
     
  4. MMarko

    MMarko Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2005
    Messages:
    316
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I have enabled this optio, and have registred ns1.example.com and ns2.example.com. Now what? How to add these example names to name servers IPs?
     
  5. MMarko

    MMarko Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2005
    Messages:
    316
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I think this is solved.

    If somebody is interested here is what I've done. Add another two zones in named.conf, add ns1.example.com.db in /var/named/ and thats it.

    You can check with this if all went ok http://www.dnsstuff.com/
     
  6. chirpy

    chirpy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2002
    Messages:
    13,475
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Go on, have a guess
    You shouldn't really do it that way - you should simply add an A record into the zone file of example.com for ns1
     
Loading...

Share This Page