The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Name Server Woe

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by stuartbaggs, Jun 20, 2004.

  1. stuartbaggs

    stuartbaggs Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2003
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I cant get the name servers to work properly. I have tried with two diferent registrars so its not the domain. I can get the hosnamt to work but no DNS any ideas? BTW dont sugest things liek restarting or updating as ive done all this and tried using different name server.

    Stuart
     
  2. stuartbaggs

    stuartbaggs Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2003
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Anyone this is realy anoying!

    Stuart
     
  3. icanectc

    icanectc Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2003
    Messages:
    344
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I need some more info... What do you mean it doesn't work?? Is the domain not pointing to your server - whats it doing or in this case not... What is the domain in question having the problem?
     
  4. seekhosting

    seekhosting Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2003
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Hi,

    ## I cant get the name servers to work properly
    ## I can get the hosnamt to work but no DNS any ideas?

    Yes, your host can work normally even without the nameservers.

    1) Use a 'A' record to point to the IP address of server
    2) Use a mail record to point to the IP address of server
    3) create a MX record
    4) creste other records as necessary

    i.e.

    yourdomain.com. IN A xxx.xx.xx.x
    www.yourdomain.com. IN CNAME yourdomain.com.
    .........................
    ..........................
    mail.yourdomain.com. IN A xxx.xx.xx.x
    ..........................
    .........................
    yourdomain.com. IN MX 10 mail.yourdomain.com.
    .........................
    ........................

    where xxx.xx.xx.x is the IP address of server

    Best regards
     
  5. Sheldon

    Sheldon Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2004
    Messages:
    378
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Canada
    I dont know how you can do that.... but anyhow heres what I did

    1. make sure you have enabled the nameserver support in WHM

    2. add your primary namesevrers in the System Setup.
    -assign IP addresses
    -add 'A' entry

    3. edit /etc/resolv.conf with your dc's reverse dns servers
    - you will need to ask your DC for those if they did not give those you upon signup

    4. to change your hostname do the following
    # hostname your.hostname.com

    Edit the following files

    /etc/sysconfig/network
    /etc/hosts

    Then replace the old hostname within httpd.conf
    Use pico's search function believe its ^W search for old hostname and then replace it with your new one.

    Restart exim and bind.

    # host 255.255.255.255
    -replace 255.255.255.255 with your IP

    make sure you get something like
    xx.xx.90.66.in-addr.arpa domain name pointer your.hostname.com

    if you dont contact your DC to add correct PTR (reverse dns records) for your hostname

    Proper reverse dns entry propagation will take about 72 hours.

    Regards
    Sheldon King
     
Loading...

Share This Page