The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Name Server

Discussion in 'Bind / DNS / Nameserver Issues' started by Thorgalalix, Nov 15, 2014.

  1. Thorgalalix

    Thorgalalix Registered

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2014
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Website Owner
    hello
    I try to find how to change the server name (ns1.sever.com, ns2.server.com).
    I've Cpanel. I'm user (no whm).

    Click image for larger version Name: Capture d'écran de 2014-11-16 05:04:08.png Views: 1 Size: 150.2 KB ID: 29701
    Impossible to find the place to put name. Only A Cname TXT, in DNS zone simple. I can access to dns zone advanced also.
    Help....
    Thank all

    - - - Updated - - -

    i forgot image Capture d'écran de 2014-11-16 05:04:08.png
     
  2. server9host

    server9host Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2013
    Messages:
    160
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    India
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello,

    You can edit nameserver, add new A record, change server name using WHM with root access.

    As per screenshot I get you are trying to edit record through cpanel. Please try to edit using WHM using root access.


    Thanks
     
  3. popeye

    popeye Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2013
    Messages:
    313
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Texas
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    They said they have no WHM access but i think what they are trying to do needs to be done at the domain registrar not in cpanel
     
  4. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    14,451
    Likes Received:
    195
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    As a Website Owner, you won't have access to settings for this. You'll need to speak with your Hosting Provider.
     
  5. keat63

    keat63 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2014
    Messages:
    765
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    18
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Thorgalalix.

    I'm no expert, but i think maybe you need to do the following.

    If you only have CPanel access then you cannot change your name servers here.
    You'll need to ask whoever provides you with the CPanel/Web Hosting plan what his name servers are called.

    I assume you've purchaed a domain name through a registrar
    If so then you'll have to log in to your control panel there, modify your domain and add the two name servers in the nameserver section.
     
Loading...

Share This Page