The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

name servers

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by popeye, Nov 13, 2013.

  1. popeye

    popeye Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2013
    Messages:
    313
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Texas
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hi me again just after some more information hopefully.

    As my business grows i am putting more and more servers online, and need to know how i can use the same name severs i used on our first one for them all. i have installed cPanel DNSONLY on one machine but not sure if this is correct or not, and just wanted to know if anyone could give me some easy steps to follow please.
     
  2. ravi9

    ravi9 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2013
    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    India
    cPanel Access Level:
    Website Owner
    @popeye, thank you for posting / asking this question.
    Yes, I also want to know this in detailed.

    As far I know:
    1) We need a small VPS with centOS installed.

    2) Download and install cPanel DNSONLY on VPS. This can take 15-30 minutes. cPanel DNSONLY is free.
    Code:
    wget http://httpupdate.cpanel.net/latest-dnsonly
    chmod +x latest-dnsonly
    ./latest-dnsonly
    
    3) After installation login at http://server-IP:2087 and complete the installation process.

    4) Navigate to:
    WHM Home >> Cluster/Remote Access >> Setup Remote Access Key >> Click Generate new key and copy the entire key.


    Setup DNS in your cPanel server
    1) Now login in WHM of cPanel server where you want to use this DNS server address.
    Navigate to: WHM Home >> Cluster/Remote Access >> Configure Cluster

    2) Enable DNS clustering.

    3) Add a new server to the cluster >> select Backend Type as cPanel >> and click configure button.

    4) Enter the details like hostname and paste the remote SSH key. Username is root. Also check the box “Setup Reverse Trust Relationship”.

    5) Under DNS Role Select Write-only

    Done!!!


    --------------------------------
    This is what I know, but I am not sure if this is the right way. I may be wrong somewhere.
     
  3. popeye

    popeye Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2013
    Messages:
    313
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Texas
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Thanks for the reply, i have done all that but just not sure if its all working or not.

    Only reason for not knowing is because i have created 2 vps servers and no sites work on them and cant work out why.
     
  4. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,854
    Likes Received:
    676
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello :)

    Try using a website such as IntoDNS for one of the domain names hosted on your VPS to see if there are any problems with the DNS configuration. You should see the name servers at the parent servers matching the name servers configured on the local name server.

    Thank you.
     
  5. popeye

    popeye Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2013
    Messages:
    313
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Texas
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hi yes i have done loads of problems on their but cant work out how why, as far as i know its all setup correct just like my other servers.
     
  6. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,854
    Likes Received:
    676
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    You are welcome to submit a support ticket if you would like us to take a look at the actual configuration. Submit a ticket using the link in my signature and then post the ticket number here so we can update this thread with the outcome.

    Thank you.
     
  7. popeye

    popeye Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2013
    Messages:
    313
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Texas
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hi is it free to open a support ticket ?

    PS just so you know i am using solusvm to create the vps servers but no sites work on them, but the host ip works fine.
     
  8. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,854
    Likes Received:
    676
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
  9. popeye

    popeye Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2013
    Messages:
    313
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Texas
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Just read up again about DNS servers it says you need 2 and use ips that have not been used for name servers before.

    So does this mean that you install the DNS only one one ip and again on another ip then make name servers with both these ips ?
     
  10. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,854
    Likes Received:
    676
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    This is how most administrators configure their DNS-Only machines and their cluster, yes. However, note that you are not installing DNS-Only on an IP, but rather on a server.

    Thank you.
     
Loading...

Share This Page