The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

named.conf problem (fedora 6)

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by af99, Feb 14, 2007.

  1. af99

    af99 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2007
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Hello,
    I try to set up my VPS. After I installed cpanel there was no named.conf. I tried to create it manually, but it still doesn't work. I really don't know what to do. I'm kind of lost.
    I even managed to get bind running - but after restarting named again I always get the "named has failed, please contact the sysadmin (result was "named is not running")." error message.
    I read somewhere that cpanel doesn't support fedora 6 yet. Is that true? What can I do to solve my problem?
    Thanks.
     
  2. cooldude7273

    cooldude7273 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2004
    Messages:
    363
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Roswell, GA
    Correct, cPanel does not support Fedora Core 6. Your best bet would to probably be find a VPS that is running Fedora Core 5 or lower, or another supported OS. No matter which way you look at it right now, cPanel + FC6 = problems.
     
  3. cPanelKenneth

    cPanelKenneth cPanel Development
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2006
    Messages:
    4,458
    Likes Received:
    22
    Trophy Points:
    38
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Fedora Core 6 does not provide an /etc/named.conf, the closest one gets is when installing the caching nameserver, it creates an /etc/named.conf-caching or some such nonesense. For now you'll need to create your own /etc/named.conf

    Doing
    Code:
    touch /etc/named.conf
    
    Will get you to the point where you can create accounts in WHM, but you really need to do more, something like:
    Code:
    //in your favorite editor, mine is vim
    vim /etc/named.conf
    
    //Insert the following text
    include "/etc/rndc.key";
    
    controls {
            inet 127.0.0.1 allow { localhost; } keys { "rndc-key"; };
    };
    
    
    
    //
    // named.conf for Red Hat caching-nameserver 
    //
    
    options {
            directory "/var/named";
            dump-file "/var/named/data/cache_dump.db";
            statistics-file "/var/named/data/named_stats.txt";
            /*
             * If there is a firewall between you and nameservers you want
             * to talk to, you might need to uncomment the query-source
             * directive below.  Previous versions of BIND always asked
             * questions using port 53, but BIND 8.1 uses an unprivileged
             * port by default.
             */
             // query-source address * port 53;
    };
    
    // 
    // a caching only nameserver config
    // 
    
    zone "." IN {
            type hint;
            file "/var/named/named.ca";
    };
    
    zone "localdomain" IN {
            type master;
            file "/var/named/localdomain.zone";
            allow-update { none; };
    };
    
    zone "localhost" IN {
            type master;
            file "/var/named/localhost.zone";
            allow-update { none; };
    };
    zone "0.0.127.in-addr.arpa" IN {
            type master;
            file "/var/named/named.local";
            allow-update { none; };
    };
    
    zone "0.0.0.0.0.0.0.0.0.0.0.0.0.0.0.0.0.0.0.0.0.0.0.0.0.0.0.0.0.0.0.ip6.arpa" IN {
            type master;
            file "/var/named/named.ip6.local";
            allow-update { none; };
    };
    
    zone "255.in-addr.arpa" IN {
            type master;
            file "/var/named/named.broadcast";
            allow-update { none; };
    };
    
    zone "0.in-addr.arpa" IN {
            type master;
            file "/var/named/named.zero";
            allow-update { none; };
    };
    
    Of course, you need to make certain all those zone files are properly setup in /var/named

    There is a fix for this in EDGE at the moment. Eventually it will work its way into the other builds.
     
  4. cooldude7273

    cooldude7273 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2004
    Messages:
    363
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Roswell, GA
    Ken, is FC6 fully supported in edge?
     
  5. cPanelKenneth

    cPanelKenneth cPanel Development
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2006
    Messages:
    4,458
    Likes Received:
    22
    Trophy Points:
    38
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I know some of the fixes peculiar to FC 6 are in EDGE only (such as the fixrdnc script), but we are building RPMs for all branches (some of the RPMs not being built at the moment, on my TO_INVESTIGATE list).

    The fixes will work their way into the other branches, but I don't knwo the scheduling of that.
     
Loading...

Share This Page