The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

named error

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by rachweb, Aug 27, 2004.

  1. rachweb

    rachweb Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2004
    Messages:
    268
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    amsterdam
    Hello,
    When i start/restart named then i get this message: Attempting to restart named
    Waiting for named to restart.... . . . . . . . . . . finished.

    named status bind 1298 0.0 0.2 2588 2080 ?? Ss 9:31PM 0:00.00 /usr/sbin/named -u bind -c /etc/namedb/named.conf



    named started ok Aug 27 21:31:51 games named[1297]: starting (/etc/namedb/named.conf). named 8.3.7-REL Fri Aug 27 07:10:19 CEST 2004 easy@games01.gservers.be:/usr/obj/usr/src/usr.sbin/named Aug 27 21:31:51 games named[1297]: limit files set to fdlimit (1024) Aug 27 21:31:51 games named[1297]: /etc/namedb/named.conf:8: Ignoring BIND 9 inet control clause Aug 27 21:31:51 games named[1297]: /etc/namedb/named.conf:12: no options statement before first zone; using previous/default Aug 27 21:31:51 games named[1298]: Ready to answer queries. Aug 27 21:31:51 games named[1298]: check_hints: A records for B.ROOT-SERVERS.NET class 1 do not match hint records

    Can somebody helpme with this
     
  2. sawbuck

    sawbuck Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2004
    Messages:
    1,367
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    38
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Have you searched on the forum? This problem has been covered at some length and depending on what OS you are running a search should yield some pointers.
     
  3. rachweb

    rachweb Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2004
    Messages:
    268
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    amsterdam
    I have searched. But i don't found the answer. I am using freebsd 5.2
     
  4. neraath

    neraath Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2004
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Aggieland, TX
    Check which version of BIND you are running too, lol. I just checked mine and found out that I was running BIND 8 rather than BIND 9. That would cause that error. To check it just run:

    Code:
    named -v
    
    If your version of bind is 8.x.x, then just install BIND 9 using ports. I believe it should be the following:

    Code:
    cd /usr/ports/dns/bind9
    make install clean
    
     
Loading...

Share This Page