The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Named Failure......

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by JeanGenie, Jul 30, 2008.

  1. JeanGenie

    JeanGenie Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2008
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Hi

    I put a support ticket in to my cPanel reseller over 12 hours ago and they still have no even bothered to respond, this I find terrible and am in desperate need of help...

    I rebooted my server which has centOS 5 and cPanel/WHM latest versions. And upon the reboot the named has failed to start... this is what I get when I try to rebbot from whm...

    named has failed, please contact the sysadmin (result was "named is not running"). Jul 30 08:58:10 mars named: zone localdomain/IN: loaded serial 42 Jul 30 08:58:10 mars named: zone localhost/IN: loaded serial 42 Jul 30 08:58:10 mars named:

    I have also tried a reboot from inside ssh but it does the duty then just says in red FAILURE at the end...

    I have asked cPenel source :mad: for help but they have not answered even tho I have written at least 7 times, can anyone suggest anything before all my clients up and move away from me....

    Sitting here in hope.... and thanks

    JG:D
     
  2. chirpy

    chirpy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2002
    Messages:
    13,475
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Go on, have a guess
    You need to tail /var/log/messages when restarting named to see why it is failing.
     
  3. JeanGenie

    JeanGenie Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2008
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1

    Hi Chirpy

    As a complete newbie and novice to all this can you offer me somre advise as to maybe to the complete ssh coding so I can get some more info from it please. I have submitted a support direct with cPanel now but in the past 5 hours I have lost 15 clients, and soon many more... cPanelsource.net have not replied to my screams for help and if I lose much more of my clinet base then it will be no t worth continuing...

    Sorry to be a moaner but I have been up all nite waiting for someone to let me know things are happening...

    JG
     
  4. chirpy

    chirpy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2002
    Messages:
    13,475
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Go on, have a guess
    1. Login to SSH as the root user

    2. tail the message log using:

    tail -f /var/log/messages

    3. Restart named from within WHM

    4. Watch for errors in the SSH window (they may shoot past very quickly)

    You may be able to get a quick fix by running:

    /scripts/fixrndc
    /scripts/rebuildnamedconf
    service named restart
     
  5. JeanGenie

    JeanGenie Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2008
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Hi

    You are a complete star...... IT WORKED......

    I cannot thank you enough.... I owe you a beer or 10 and thanks..:D

    JG
     
  6. hostmedic

    hostmedic Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2003
    Messages:
    559
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Washington Court House, Ohio, United States
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    clear /var/named and restart ?

    Is there a way to clear /var/named and then rebuild all zones on the server only ?
    Let me rephrase - all zones are gone - need to readd them ...

    any ideas?
     
    #6 hostmedic, Aug 18, 2008
    Last edited: Aug 18, 2008
  7. cPanelKenneth

    cPanelKenneth cPanel Development
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2006
    Messages:
    4,461
    Likes Received:
    22
    Trophy Points:
    38
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Backups, the surest way.
     
  8. AndyReed

    AndyReed Well-Known Member
    PartnerNOC

    Joined:
    May 29, 2004
    Messages:
    2,222
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Minneapolis, MN
    We wrote a script to re-build the DNS zones for one of our clients. That said, yes it is possible.

    BTW, the scripts we are using belong to ServerTune.com and not something I can share or give away.
     
  9. hostmedic

    hostmedic Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2003
    Messages:
    559
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Washington Court House, Ohio, United States
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    thanks for nothing

    Andy - :-(

    I have been a fan for some time - however an answer that says
    yes but i am taking my ball and keeping it @ home is just silly...

    Post's like that do nothing to help the community.

    Now for the good news - this is quite simple...
    - we scripted it -and are happy to share
    pm for details
     
  10. hostmedic

    hostmedic Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2003
    Messages:
    559
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Washington Court House, Ohio, United States
    cPanel Access Level:
    DataCenter Provider
    cpanelkenneth

    the issue was due to some strange actions - (had a ticket on this recently)
    where suddenly many zones were injected w/ some strange data

    Apparently it was due to some crazy code on a dns only product.
    All fixed - backups did the job - of course...

    Gotta love that R1Soft product as well.
     
Loading...

Share This Page