The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Named Problem Help!!!!!!!!!

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by bsasninja, Jan 17, 2007.

  1. bsasninja

    bsasninja Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2004
    Messages:
    528
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    My pages are hanging up at night for 3 days Between 1 and 2 am.
    All services are ok, except from httpd that I have to restart it and everything goes back to normal.

    I checked the /var/log/messages and i found a lot of this stuff here is a piece of it.

    All days the logs prints the same IP and the same domain that gaves the error.

    Jan 18 01:50:31 server1 named[2266]: client 200.89.21.216#55552: update 'domain.com/IN' denied
    Jan 18 01:50:45 server1 named[2266]: client 200.89.21.216#55562: update 'domain.com/IN' denied
    Jan 18 01:50:57 server1 named[2266]: client 200.89.21.216#55571: update 'domain.com/IN' denied
    Jan 18 01:51:07 server1 named[2266]: client 200.89.21.216#55580: update 'domain.com/IN' denied

    What does it means or what is going on?? Its always the same ip and the server is denying it.

    By now I banned the IP from the Firewall to see what happens. I would like someone explains me what those message means!

    Thank you!
     
    #1 bsasninja, Jan 17, 2007
    Last edited: Jan 17, 2007
  2. bsasninja

    bsasninja Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2004
    Messages:
    528
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Anyone could help me? the apache is going down a lot of times. Seems that there is other the problem and i dont know where to look for.

    Thanks
     
  3. mohit

    mohit Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2005
    Messages:
    553
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Sticky On Internet
    hi,
    are you sure the IP you've mentioned is not your server's IP. i don't thnk these named enrtries could cause a apache crash.

    If your Apache crashes on a specific time, you can look for any cron running causing this to you.

    have you tried to see what errors are reported on apache log near/at the time of crash

    tail -100 /usr/local/apache/logs/error_log


    See ya,
    mohit
     
  4. bsasninja

    bsasninja Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2004
    Messages:
    528
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    No, is a IP address from Perú so I banned it. Anyways today happened 3 times at night. First at 1.47am, then at 5.35am y the last at 6.03am.

    I found this kind of errors at error_log

    [warn] Child process xxxx still did not exists, sending a SIGTERM
    [warn] Child process xxxx still did not exists, sending another SIGHUP
    [warn] Child process xxxx still did not exists, sending a SIGTERM
    [warn] Child process xxxx still did not exists, sending another SIGHUP

    Is like the apache child process are not exiting ok. A few days before this problem start to happen, I played with maxspare servers, maxchild, etc at httpd config, but then I set the values as they were before.

    I deleted this line from crontab also (cause I didnt use cpaddons anyways)

    17 4 * * * /usr/local/cpanel/whostmgr/docroot/cgi/cpaddons_report.pl --notify

    My crontab has the following

    37 4 * * * /scripts/upcp
    0 1 * * * /scripts/cpbackup
    */15 * * * * /usr/local/cpanel/whostmgr/bin/dnsqueue > /dev/null 2>&1
    2,58 * * * * /usr/local/bandmin/bandmin
    0 0 * * * /usr/local/bandmin/ipaddrmap
    0 6 * * * /scripts/exim_tidydb > /dev/null 2>&1
    */5 * * * * /usr/local/cpanel/bin/dcpumon >/dev/null 2>&1

    I wait comments!

    Thanks
     
  5. jayh38

    jayh38 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2006
    Messages:
    1,215
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Your backup starts at 1am. If your hanging pages depend primarily on mysql and if your mysql databases are very large and take a long time to backup, this may be the trouble.

    Change your backup time to another time and see if that is the case.
     
  6. bsasninja

    bsasninja Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2004
    Messages:
    528
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    So if change to other time the backup and the same thing happens, what could be the solution to it ?¿

    Thanks
     
  7. jayh38

    jayh38 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2006
    Messages:
    1,215
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    The solution , if the backup process if the problem, would be to tolerate it and wait for the backup to complete and schedule the backup for a low usage time.
     
  8. bsasninja

    bsasninja Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2004
    Messages:
    528
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Right now backups are made every day.
    Here is my backup config.

    Backup Status: Enabled
    Backup Interval: Weekly
    Days to run backup: All days
    Remount/Unmount backup drive: Disabled
    Bail out if the backup drive cannot be mounted: Disabled
    Incremental backup: Disabled
    Backup Accounts: Enabled
    Backup Config Files: Enabled
    Sql Databases: Per Accounts Only
    Backup Raw Access Logs: Disabled
    Backup Type: Standard (made on a second drive)

    what do you suggest?
    By the way I´ve Cpanel R-118, 2GB RAM, Dual Opteron 244, SATA Disks, 1300 accounts.
     
    #8 bsasninja, Jan 18, 2007
    Last edited: Jan 18, 2007
  9. jayh38

    jayh38 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2006
    Messages:
    1,215
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    I suggest first trying to prove if the backup process is causing your problem.
     
  10. mohit

    mohit Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2005
    Messages:
    553
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Sticky On Internet
    Did you restarted Apache after making changes, most people make the changes and don't restart the apache and the day their Apache is restarted for any reasons the changes made earlier become problems and hard to figure out cause you never tell admins what you fiddled with earlier.

    This might not be in your case just a general idea on it.

    how much CPU and RAM usage is on your machine with 1300 active accounts.


    see ya,
    m
     
Loading...

Share This Page