The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

named wont start

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by droidman, Jul 13, 2012.

  1. droidman

    droidman Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    here are the commands and outputs

    Code:
    Stopping named:                                           [  OK  ]
    Stopping named:
    Message from syslogd@server at Jul 13 15:07:42 ...
     t of memory [6641]
    
    Message from syslogd@server at Jul 13 15:07:42 ...
     t of memory [6641]
    
    Message from syslogd@server at Jul 13 15:07:42 ...
     t of memory [6641]
    
    Message from syslogd@server at Jul 13 15:07:42 ...
     t of memory [6641]
    
    Message from syslogd@server at Jul 13 15:07:42 ...
     t of memory [6641]
    
    Message from syslogd@server at Jul 13 15:07:42 ...
     t of memory [6641]
    
    Message from syslogd@server at Jul 13 15:07:42 ...
     t of memory [6641]
                                                               [FALHOU]
    
    Code:
    root@server [/scripts]# free -m
                 total       used       free     shared    buffers     cached
    Mem:         15339       1020      14319          0        148        192
    -/+ buffers/cache:        679      14660
    Swap:        17519          0      17519
    
    Code:
    Executing /usr/local/cpanel/scripts/rebuilddnsconfig
    
    warn [fixrndc] /usr/sbin/rndc status failed: WARNING: key file (/etc/rndc.key) exists, but using default configuration file (/etc/rndc.conf)rndc: connect failed: 127.0.0.1#953: connection refused
    Restarting named
    warn [fixrndc] /usr/sbin/rndc status failed: WARNING: key file (/etc/rndc.key) exists, but using default configuration file (/etc/rndc.conf)rndc: connect failed: 127.0.0.1#953: connection refused
    
    fixeveryting does the same get's stuck in rndc and i tried updating, rebooting the server and so on.
    anyone ?
     
  2. cPanelTristan

    cPanelTristan Quality Assurance Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2010
    Messages:
    7,623
    Likes Received:
    21
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    somewhere over the rainbow
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello,

    The issue is likely with portreserve on port 953 preventing rndc from working properly.

    Here are the steps we are advising until our internal case () has been fixed:

    Code:
    mv /etc/init.d/named /etc/init.d/named.bak120714
    yum reinstall bind
    You should see the following after the reinstall:

    Code:
    grep port /etc/init.d/named
    export KRB5_KTNAME=${KEYTAB_FILE:-/etc/named.keytab}
     [ -x /sbin/portrelease ] && /sbin/portrelease named &>/dev/null || :
    Then run the following:

    Code:
    /etc/init.d/named stop; /etc/init.d/portreserve restart; /etc/init.d/named start
    At that point, check the port:

    Code:
    netstat -plan | grep 953 | grep named
    Something like the following should show up:

    Code:
    root@host [~]# netstat -plan | grep 953 | grep named
    tcp        0      0 127.0.0.1:953 0.0.0.0:*    LISTEN      7194/named 
    Thanks!
     
  3. droidman

    droidman Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    i did the reinstall and so on after that:

    Code:
    root@server [~]# /etc/init.d/named stop; /etc/init.d/portreserve restart; /etc/init.d/named start
    Stopping named:                                           [  OK  ]
    Stopping portreserve:
    Starting portreserve:                                   [  OK  ]
    Starting named:
    Message from syslogd@server at Jul 16 16:13:35 ...
     t of memory [30799]
    
    Message from syslogd@server at Jul 16 16:13:35 ...
     t of memory [30799]
                                                               [FALHOU]
    
    My problem is probably because this is a server with 16GB of ram that is using 32bit linux.
    is there any way to change it to 64bits in a fast way or do i have to back up everything and format the server?
     
  4. cPanelTristan

    cPanelTristan Quality Assurance Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2010
    Messages:
    7,623
    Likes Received:
    21
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    somewhere over the rainbow
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    We cannot really provide recommendations on trying to switch to 64 bit from 32 bit. I'd ensure you have backups of everything before proceeding. Best to reformat really, but you might want to ask your datacenter their recommendations instead.
     
  5. srfelipe

    srfelipe Registered

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2012
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Website Owner
    Finally, you solved my problem completely! Thank you so much for helping me out. Hope this helps others as well. ;)
     
  6. acacetus

    acacetus Registered

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2012
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Spokane, Washington, United States
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    This is brilliant. Thanks!
     
  7. MichaelFindlay

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2007
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Had this problem on a cPanel DNS only server, any chance you know triggers the problem? :)
     
  8. electric

    electric Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2001
    Messages:
    697
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    How does this change, now that cpanel is using RPM instead of YUM?

    When I use "yum reinstall bind", I get this error:

     
  9. stdout

    stdout Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2003
    Messages:
    189
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Nelspruit, Mpumalanga, South Africa
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    YUM is merely a Package manager for RPM. Have you tried manually removing/installing the RPM?
    How do I uninstall/install the Bind/Named RPM WITHOUT Yum?

    1. Manually download the bind-9.8.2-0.10 RPM from your Distributor's website.
    2. Locate and Remove the bind RPM: "rpm -q bind | xargs rpm -e" - Bind/Named is now Gone.
    3. Install the downloaded RPM: ie. "bind-9.8.2-0.10.rc1.el6_3.5.i686.rpm".
     
Loading...

Share This Page