The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Nameserevers Have Wrong IP - How to Fix???

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Jude_Obscure, Mar 8, 2014.

  1. Jude_Obscure

    Jude_Obscure Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2014
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hi,

    I am not posting this without having done a search. I am a bit of a WHM newbie, although been using most of the basic functions on CPanel for several years.

    I had a new install of WHM/CPanel done on my new dedicated server yesterday. However, I am sure I added the wrong IP Addresses. [There were some prepopulated for some reason]

    I an now stuck and am totally unsure of how to change the nameserver IP numbers. I have read several methods on various forums, which seem to vary dependent on WHM version.

    I have used the Edit DNS Zone and reset them, but although when I go back into edit, it shows the proper IP numbers, when I hit the NS Info it still shows the old info with the same IP. I am unfamiliar with SSH, I could not get it work earlier.

    How on earth do I change the IP's for the nameservers now its set? It seems such a basic and oft needed item, why is it SO hard to do?

    This is what intodns.com says.
    /http://www.intodns.com/closecombatonline.com

    Which seems to be all the problems are with the nameservers!

    I have been at this for ages now and the server after being finished kept rebooting, so needed rebuilding. I would just like the site up. I chose to pay for CPanel as I thought it would be easier, but this seems ridiculous!

    Any help would be so appreciated!

    Kind Regards - Jude:confused:







    CENTOS 6.5 x86_64 standard – earl WHM 11.42.0 (build 20)
     
  2. robb3369

    robb3369 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2008
    Messages:
    122
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Are xx.xx.144.149 and xx.xx.144.150 the correct name servers? I tried to contact them and they failed to provide any other info...

    If those servers IPs are NOT correct, they need to be updated at Wild West Domains...
     
  3. Jude_Obscure

    Jude_Obscure Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2014
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hia Rob,

    I have 6 dedicated IP numbers, [partly below] 1 of them is set to the server itself and 2 I should have used for the nameservers.

    2.244.x
    2.244.xx
    2.244.xx
    2.244.xx
    2.244.xx
    2.244.xx

    My domains are all registered with one registrar.

    The nameservers are:
    ns1.domain.com = 74.220.xx.x
    ns1.domain.com = 74.220.xx.x

    The above is what it shows on the basic screen "Basic cPanel & WHM Setup" top left in WHM, after I click add an A entry. [See Screen attached]
    If I click The Assign IP Button it gives the IP below.
    The nameserver has been assigned the IP 67.215.xx.xx.

    This then reverts to ns1.domain.com = 74.220.xx.x instantly.


    NOW, if I go to DNS Functions, [on left menu] and click Edit DNS Zone, it shows the correct IP. [See screen2]

    So, I need to change the nameserver IP numbers, how can I do that? It must be possible!

    Also, have no idea where the 2 odd IP numbers come from 74.220.xx.x AND 67.215.xx.xx

    Any help would be so welcome, this must be possible!

    Cheers - S
     

    Attached Files:

    #3 Jude_Obscure, Mar 8, 2014
    Last edited by a moderator: Mar 8, 2014
  4. Jude_Obscure

    Jude_Obscure Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2014
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I found this on another post about nameservers and IPs.

    Why is such a basic thing so hard to change?

    In WHM, I have 5 free IP numbers, but when I click assign a number, it uses a number I don't recognize and have no idea where it comes from? There seems no way of assigning an IP that you want. Using the scripts before was clunky for a web based UI where nameservers and IPs are so important.

    Any help here would be so appreciated. How can such a simple step be so hard to change?

    Regards - Shaun
     
  5. Jude_Obscure

    Jude_Obscure Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2014
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Ticket submitted - Tried to pay got server error! UNREAL......

    Shaun
     
  6. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,678
    Likes Received:
    648
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello :)

    The functionality of the "Nameserver IPs" page is for visual purposes only. It is a report, and not a page meant to configure any aspect of DNS. It reports the nameservers used by DNS zones on the server, as well as a count of the the number of zones that use a given nameserver. The important entries on the cPanel server are the "A" records that you have added for your name servers. Thus, as long as you have registered these name servers to the matching IP addresses at the domain registrar, then no further DNS configuration is required. The "Nameserver IPs" page can include cached data, so you can safely ignore any mentions of "No IP" or a different IP on that page as it may take some time before it updates.

    Note: cPanel version 11.42 introduces the "NS Record Report" option in place of the "Nameserver IP's" option.

    Thank you.
     
Loading...

Share This Page