The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Nameserver Confusion

Discussion in 'Bind / DNS / Nameserver Issues' started by webphysix, Jan 28, 2013.

  1. webphysix

    webphysix Registered

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2013
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello.

    I have a VPS w/cPanel installed. I don't understand how to get my nameservers setup.

    VPS: cPanel
    Domain Registrar: GoDaddy

    Despite reading many tutorials, I dont understand. I need someone to tell me detailedly.

    My IPs are:
    173.213.112.180
    173.213.112.181

    My Domain Name is /http://webphysix.net

    Please check my records at intodns.com/webphysix.net

    Tell me what changes should I make at my domain registrar's side and on cPanel to setup the VPS.

    Thank you :)
     
  2. quietFinn

    quietFinn Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2006
    Messages:
    998
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Finland
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Without seeing your setup I'd guess that you have DNS Zones for:
    ns1.webphysix.net
    ns2.webphysix.net

    however you don't seem to have a cPanel account for the domain webphysix.net

    My suggestion:
    1. delete those 2 DNS Zones
    2. create a cPanel account using domain webphysix.net
    that also creates a DNS Zone for that domain.

    Then edit the DNS Zone of webphysix.net
    It should be using nameservers ns1.webphysix.net & ns2.webphysix.net
    Add these:
    ns1 14400 IN A 173.213.112.180
    ns2 14400 IN A 173.213.112.181

    save and after a while all should be working well.
     
    #2 quietFinn, Jan 28, 2013
    Last edited: Jan 28, 2013
  3. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    14,474
    Likes Received:
    202
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
  4. webphysix

    webphysix Registered

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2013
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Thank you so much, that worked!

    Does this mean, all the features of cPanel are setup? Mail? everything!?

    What could be the mail server?
     
  5. Infopro

    Infopro cPanel Sr. Product Evangelist
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2003
    Messages:
    14,474
    Likes Received:
    202
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Rephrase please, having trouble understanding the question as posted.


    Thanks.
     
  6. jakesully

    jakesully Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2011
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    when creating a cpanel account it also creates a DNS Zone template for that account which then sets up records for ftp, mail and stuff like that so your good to go :)
     
  7. quietFinn

    quietFinn Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2006
    Messages:
    998
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Finland
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Your question does not make sense.
    You added A records for your name servers, but that does not necessarily mean that "all the features of cPanel are setup".
     
Loading...

Share This Page