The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Nameserver Help - Urgent!

Discussion in 'Bind / DNS / Nameserver Issues' started by bonnmac, May 3, 2003.

  1. bonnmac

    bonnmac Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2003
    Messages:
    101
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Okay, I have my main domain crediblehost.com (which is on my ensim server) and I have purchased a new server with cPanel. Well the nameservers I want to use are with this domain. I want to use dns4.crediblehost.com & dns5.crediblehost.com I have added them into cpanel box with ips assigned to this box. I have added them at enom with correct ips.

    Now all was working. I added some clients to this box and their sites were resolving using these nameservers. However today none of them work. I go to dnsreport.com and it says correct nameservers but on dns4.crediblehost.com it gives my ensim server ip.

    I've checked at enom and correct ip for cpanel box is there for nameserver.

    Do I need to add A Records (to crediblehost.com) on my ensim box but with cpanel ips?

    Any ideas?
     
  2. Website Rob

    Website Rob Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2002
    Messages:
    1,506
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Alberta, Canada
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Using WHM > Server Setup > Manage Assigned Nameserver Ips

    does dns4.crediblehost.com & dns5.crediblehost.com show up, and with the correct IPs? If not, you can edit:

    # /etc/nameserverips

    to include them. This is usually a read-only file though, so make sure to 'chattr -i' to edit it, then change it back with 'chattr +i'.

    You can then, Edit the DNS (in WHM) for including A records for both NS.
     
  3. bonnmac

    bonnmac Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2003
    Messages:
    101
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Thanks but this didn't solve my problem :( Any other ideas?

    /etc/nameserverips looks similar to this

    ipaddress = dns4.crediblehost.com
    ipaddress = dns5.crediblehost.com
    ipaddress = ipaddress
    ipaddress = ipaddress
    ipaddress = ipaddress
    ipaddress = ipaddress
    ipaddress = ipaddress
    ipaddress = ipaddress

    I have A Records for both of these nameservers in WHM :(
     
  4. reddrake

    reddrake Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2003
    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Wisconsin,Usa
    Well do the nameservers work?
    If they do then it shouldn't be a problem.
     
  5. bonnmac

    bonnmac Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2003
    Messages:
    101
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    As per my first post. No they do not work which is why I'm asking for help.

    They are registered at my registar. They worked for a couple days. Now they do not work. checkdns.net says they are alive however domains do not resolve anymore. They resolved for almost a week then stopped.
     
  6. reddrake

    reddrake Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2003
    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Wisconsin,Usa
    If you would like to talk about it please aim me, I believe I may have the answer. reddsupport
    Thanks,
    Brian
     
Loading...

Share This Page