Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!

Nameserver Help - Urgent!

Discussion in 'Bind/DNS/Nameserver' started by bonnmac, May 3, 2003.

  1. bonnmac

    bonnmac Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2003
    Messages:
    101
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Okay, I have my main domain crediblehost.com (which is on my ensim server) and I have purchased a new server with cPanel. Well the nameservers I want to use are with this domain. I want to use dns4.crediblehost.com & dns5.crediblehost.com I have added them into cpanel box with ips assigned to this box. I have added them at enom with correct ips.

    Now all was working. I added some clients to this box and their sites were resolving using these nameservers. However today none of them work. I go to dnsreport.com and it says correct nameservers but on dns4.crediblehost.com it gives my ensim server ip.

    I've checked at enom and correct ip for cpanel box is there for nameserver.

    Do I need to add A Records (to crediblehost.com) on my ensim box but with cpanel ips?

    Any ideas?
     
  2. Website Rob

    Website Rob Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2002
    Messages:
    1,504
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    318
    Location:
    Alberta, Canada
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Using WHM > Server Setup > Manage Assigned Nameserver Ips

    does dns4.crediblehost.com & dns5.crediblehost.com show up, and with the correct IPs? If not, you can edit:

    # /etc/nameserverips

    to include them. This is usually a read-only file though, so make sure to 'chattr -i' to edit it, then change it back with 'chattr +i'.

    You can then, Edit the DNS (in WHM) for including A records for both NS.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. bonnmac

    bonnmac Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2003
    Messages:
    101
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Thanks but this didn't solve my problem :( Any other ideas?

    /etc/nameserverips looks similar to this

    ipaddress = dns4.crediblehost.com
    ipaddress = dns5.crediblehost.com
    ipaddress = ipaddress
    ipaddress = ipaddress
    ipaddress = ipaddress
    ipaddress = ipaddress
    ipaddress = ipaddress
    ipaddress = ipaddress

    I have A Records for both of these nameservers in WHM :(
     
  4. reddrake

    reddrake Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2003
    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    156
    Location:
    Wisconsin,Usa
    Well do the nameservers work?
    If they do then it shouldn't be a problem.
     
  5. bonnmac

    bonnmac Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2003
    Messages:
    101
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    As per my first post. No they do not work which is why I'm asking for help.

    They are registered at my registar. They worked for a couple days. Now they do not work. checkdns.net says they are alive however domains do not resolve anymore. They resolved for almost a week then stopped.
     
  6. reddrake

    reddrake Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2003
    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    156
    Location:
    Wisconsin,Usa
    If you would like to talk about it please aim me, I believe I may have the answer. reddsupport
    Thanks,
    Brian
     
Loading...

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice