The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Nameserver IPs - Where does WHM get this list?

Discussion in 'Bind / DNS / Nameserver Issues' started by ladydi711, Sep 23, 2013.

  1. ladydi711

    ladydi711 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2001
    Messages:
    120
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    18
    I am in the process of updating my domains nameservers. I have changed one of them, but when I go to Networking Setup... Nameserver IPs, I get a message about Relocated Page "This function has moved to /scripts2/listassignednsips. You will be redirected there in 5 seconds..."

    I get a list of two nameservers, but they are both my previous nameservers.

    Any thoughts on where this is coming from, or If I have not set up something correctly?

    Thanks In Advance!
    Diane
     
  2. fi77i

    fi77i Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2008
    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Uruguay
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello,

    The file /etc/nameserverips is no longer used to populate WHM's Nameserver IPs area. Also, that area is simply for display purposes and does not set IP nor nameserver functionality in any way.

    If you want to update the display of that section, you can edit the /var/cpanel/nameserverips.yaml file to do so.

    Regards.
     
  3. ladydi711

    ladydi711 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2001
    Messages:
    120
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    18
    So, does that have any effect on what the Home » Server Configuration » Basic cPanel & WHM Setup page and the buttons for Assign IP address and Add an A entry for this nameserver buttons? They don't seem to do anything, as I do have A records in the zone for the ns1 and ns1 hostnames already, but the Basic cPanel & WHM Setup page along with above mentioned Nameserver IP pages has my old nameservers IPs?
     
  4. Aaron.Edwards

    Aaron.Edwards Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2013
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    The file that actually handles WHM > DNS Functions > Nameserver IPs area is at /var/cpanel/nameserverips.yaml location. If you would like this to be changed, you would need to make a backup of that file, then modify it:

    Code:
    cd /var/cpanel
    cp nameserverips.yaml nameserverips.yaml.bak
    vi nameserverips.yaml
     
  5. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,854
    Likes Received:
    675
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello :)

    The functionality of the "Nameserver IPs" page is for visual purposes only. It is a report, and not a page meant to configure any aspect of DNS. It reports the nameservers used by DNS zones on the server, as well as a count of the the number of zones that use a given nameserver. The important entries on the cPanel server are the "A" records that you have added for your name servers. Thus, as long as you have registered these name servers to the matching IP addresses at the domain registrar, and added the "A" records, then no further DNS configuration is required. The "Nameserver IPs" page can include cached data, so you can safely ignore any mentions of "No IP" or an alternate IP on that page as it may take some time before it updates.

    Thank you.
     
  6. cPanelKenneth

    cPanelKenneth cPanel Development
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2006
    Messages:
    4,461
    Likes Received:
    22
    Trophy Points:
    38
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    As noted, the Nameserver IPs page is a report, displaying information stored in /var/cpanel/nameserverips.yaml. That file is generated by scripts/updatenameserverips, a nightly cron job which queries all zones on your server to determine the various nameservers used.
     
  7. ladydi711

    ladydi711 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2001
    Messages:
    120
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Thanks so much for this and all the explanations! My files are now showing up with one new name server and one old nameserver. I expect them both to be the new ones after tonights run, since I changed them one at a time on different days.

    I just want to be sure nothing is using the old nameservers before I shut down that server.

    Thanks again for the explanation!

    Diane
     
Loading...

Share This Page