The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Nameserver IPs

Discussion in 'Bind / DNS / Nameserver Issues' started by popeye, May 29, 2013.

  1. popeye

    popeye Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2013
    Messages:
    313
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Texas
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hi can someone tell me how to remove the name server I.Ps in WHM under Nameserver IPs

    I have updated them but when i click resolver configuration its still shows the old one.
     
  2. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,854
    Likes Received:
    676
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello :)

    You have referenced two separate options:

    "WHM Home » Networking Setup » Nameserver IPs"
    "WHM Home » Networking Setup » Resolver Configuration"

    Your resolvers should not be the same as your name server IP addresses.

    Thank you.
     
  3. popeye

    popeye Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2013
    Messages:
    313
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Texas
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I added 3 name servers with 3 IPs but i did them wrong and need to change them,

    In Nameserver IPs there my old ones but in Resolver Configuration there correct
     
  4. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,854
    Likes Received:
    676
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    You should not be using the same IP addresses for your resolvers that you use for your name server IP addresses unless you have manually configured your server to allow recursion. Typically, you will configure your resolvers with the IP addresses that your data center provides, or with generic resolvers such as:

    4.2.2.2
    8.8.8.8

    The functionality of the "Nameserver IPs" page is for visual purposes only. It is a report, and not a page meant to configure any aspect of DNS. It reports the nameservers used by DNS zones on the server, as well as a count of the the number of zones that use a given nameserver. The important entries on the cPanel server are the "A" records that you have added for your name servers. Thus, as long as you have registered these name servers to the matching IP addresses at the domain registrar, then no further DNS configuration is required. The "Nameserver IPs" page can include cached data, so you can safely ignore any mentions of "No IP" on that page as it may take some time before it updates.

    Thank you.
     
  5. popeye

    popeye Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2013
    Messages:
    313
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Texas
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hi does Resolver Configuration for the DNS not I.Ps i use for my name servers ?

    Also in nameserver IPs it as my nameservers then the Resolver Configuration IP is that correct
     
  6. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,854
    Likes Received:
    676
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Correct, the IP addresses used as resolvers should not be the same as your name server IP addresses. Typically, the resolvers are configured by default so you should not have to change them.

    Thank you.
     
Loading...

Share This Page