The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Nameserver issues - any help would be appreciated

Discussion in 'Bind / DNS / Nameserver Issues' started by -aj-, Feb 25, 2013.

  1. -aj-

    -aj- Registered

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2013
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hi guys

    I made a mistake upon setup, somehow I managed to fill out the nameservers upon setup/installation as being at ns1/ns2.mydomain.com.au, when really it should be ns1/ns2.mydomain.net

    During the setup I assigned these two nameservers IP addresses, and used the 'automatically generate A records' option.

    Upon recently realising my mistake I cannot seem to be able to change them for the life of me, any attempts to do so just fail, and it means any attempts to create new records have the .com.au address specified as the nameserver, not the .net address which is the one registered with my domain registrar etc...

    I can't delete the old ones as they are 'active' or 'in-use'.. I can't work out where to edit them either, is there a way I can SSH in and change these in a config file or something? I've tried changing the name attributes in nameserverips.yaml but that isn't reflected anywhere inside the WHM user interface and the same thing keeps happening..

    I'm almost at the point of blowing the whole install away and starting from scratch but if I can avoid that I would obviously be pretty happy about it..

    Any help would be amazing, all my googling has turned up nothing but installation guides :(

    Thanks

    Aj
     
  2. quietFinn

    quietFinn Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2006
    Messages:
    998
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Finland
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    1st you go to WHM-> Server Configuration-> Basic cPanel & WHM Setup-> Nameservers
    and fill in those mydomain.net name servers

    Then you edit the DNS Zone of the domain mydomain.net and add A records for those .net name servers.

    If the name servers are registered in the registrar of mydomain.net then that is all you have to do.

    You do NOT create name servers in your WHM, you create them in the registrar of the domain.
    You just have to configure your WHM to use those name servers.
     
  3. -aj-

    -aj- Registered

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2013
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Sorry for not being clear, I'm using self hosted name servers running on my VPS, something WHM supports and helps you configure.

    The section you were talking about WHM -> Server Config -> Basic etc, would not let me change it, as they had already been set, had (the only 2 available) IP's assigned and A records generated..

    I resolved the issue shortly after posting this, this guide was very helpful http://www.webhostingtalk.com/archive/index.php/t-327461.html (in case other people have these problems)

    Specifically I had to change the names in

    /etc/wwwacct.conf
    /etc/nameserverips
    /etc/resolv.conf

    Thanks

    Aj
     
    #3 -aj-, Feb 25, 2013
    Last edited: Feb 25, 2013
  4. quietFinn

    quietFinn Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2006
    Messages:
    998
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Finland
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    You can change those whenever you want, just do not Assign IP address or Add an A entry.
    That you do manually when you edit the DNS zone.
     
  5. quietFinn

    quietFinn Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2006
    Messages:
    998
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Finland
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    You should not have your nameservers in that file.
    Resolver Configuration
    "This file will contain the names of the nameservers that your server will query in order to convert, or “resolve,” domain names into IP addresses."
     
    #5 quietFinn, Feb 25, 2013
    Last edited: Feb 25, 2013
Loading...

Share This Page