The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Nameserver Problem

Discussion in 'Bind / DNS / Nameserver Issues' started by Mike3d, Feb 8, 2006.

1. Mike3d

Mike3d Member

Forgive me if this is something easy as im fairly new to the whole whm/server area.

Ive just bought some new ip addresses and binded them but now when i go in to "Nameserver Ip's" there is ns2.namohost.com which is nothing i have added or even know of, and when i try to remove it, its reports, Cannot be removed as it is still registering with ICANN.

Anybody got any ideas what it is?, how it got there?, and how to get rid of the darn thing! lol

Thanks

2. netkinetics

netkinetics Well-Known Member

Home is Baltimore, MD - Currently in the Philippin
    take it out of /etc/nameserverips and restart cpanel (/etc/init.d/cpanel restart).

Then ping the IP and see if it replies as ns2.namohost.com .. if so , have your DC reverse the IP correctly. (i.e. so the ptr matches the nameserver host you wish to setup) or just reverse it to your server's hostname. Some DC's give you a small control panel to adjust the ptr's of your own IP addresses.

You can also put an entry in /etc/hosts to stop cpanel from complaining about it in the future, just add ns.whatever.com as a known host for whichever ip you're using.

HTH :)

3. Mike3d

Mike3d Member

Sorry for the newbie question (again :( ) but how do i get access to that? i cant log in to the server as root via FTP as for some reason it doesnt let me. :(

Also when i get there, and remove it, to restart cpanel do i just enter that url in to IE?

Sorry if all these questions are easy, but like i said im new to it all but i really want to learn about it all as i dont want to be another one of the "here today, gone tomorrow" hosts.

#3 Mike3d, Feb 9, 2006
    Last edited: Feb 9, 2006
  4. Mike3d

Mike3d Member