The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

NameServer Question

Discussion in 'Bind / DNS / Nameserver Issues' started by chad101, Jan 8, 2009.

  1. chad101

    chad101 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2006
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    I recently switched to FreeBSD 6.3 (new server). I cannot figure out why WHM is not installing my tertiary & fourth nameserver.

    I assigned my 3rd and 4th nameservers an IP & added an A entry. WHM says it was a success; yet when I check /var/named/etc/namedb I don’t see the new zone files or an entry in named.conf.

    My first 2 nameservers were installed without any problems.
     
  2. thewebhosting

    thewebhosting Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2008
    Messages:
    1,201
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Please check in WHM -> Nameservers IP section if you are able to see all the 4 nameservers listed.
     
  3. chad101

    chad101 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2006
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Yes, they are in there. But what good will that do if WHM never creates the zones files? The nameservers don't exist; even though WHM is showing them...
     
  4. chad101

    chad101 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2006
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Created a support ticket w/ Cpanel and the issue was resolved. WHM is now creating dns zone files.
     
  5. mmarch

    mmarch Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2009
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    And if i am no't able to see nameservers listed in WHM -> Nameservers IP ?

    Also when i try update a software i get error message -

    Updating DNS Server...NSD is not the configured local nameserver.
    Use /scripts/setupnameserver to change this setting.
    ...Done

    The bad thing is that i have not access to /scripts/setupnameserver at all.

    :confused::confused::confused::confused:
     
  6. mmarch

    mmarch Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2009
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Please help!!!
     
  7. bigste

    bigste Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2009
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Cheshire, UK
    Has this ended up in the wrong place?
    You sound like my wife, she starts up conversations half way through expecting that I know what she's talking about. :rolleyes:
     
Loading...

Share This Page