Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!

NameServer Question

Discussion in 'Bind/DNS/Nameserver' started by chad101, Jan 8, 2009.

  1. chad101

    chad101 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2006
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    156
    I recently switched to FreeBSD 6.3 (new server). I cannot figure out why WHM is not installing my tertiary & fourth nameserver.

    I assigned my 3rd and 4th nameservers an IP & added an A entry. WHM says it was a success; yet when I check /var/named/etc/namedb I don’t see the new zone files or an entry in named.conf.

    My first 2 nameservers were installed without any problems.
     
  2. thewebhosting

    thewebhosting Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2008
    Messages:
    1,201
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Please check in WHM -> Nameservers IP section if you are able to see all the 4 nameservers listed.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. chad101

    chad101 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2006
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    156
    Yes, they are in there. But what good will that do if WHM never creates the zones files? The nameservers don't exist; even though WHM is showing them...
     
  4. chad101

    chad101 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2006
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    156
    Created a support ticket w/ Cpanel and the issue was resolved. WHM is now creating dns zone files.
     
  5. mmarch

    mmarch Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2009
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    And if i am no't able to see nameservers listed in WHM -> Nameservers IP ?

    Also when i try update a software i get error message -

    Updating DNS Server...NSD is not the configured local nameserver.
    Use /scripts/setupnameserver to change this setting.
    ...Done

    The bad thing is that i have not access to /scripts/setupnameserver at all.

    :confused::confused::confused::confused:
     
  6. mmarch

    mmarch Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2009
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Please help!!!
     
  7. bigste

    bigste Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2009
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Cheshire, UK
    Has this ended up in the wrong place?
    You sound like my wife, she starts up conversations half way through expecting that I know what she's talking about. :rolleyes:
     
Loading...

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice