The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Nameserver: What did i forgot?

Discussion in 'Bind / DNS / Nameserver Issues' started by terrorhawk, Oct 5, 2004.

  1. terrorhawk

    terrorhawk Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2004
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Hi Guys

    I have some problems with running a domain with my own nameserver.
    i just setup the thing sow i think i forgot somthing

    the name server adresses are: ns1.djhost.nl and ns2.djhost.nl
    the domain djhost.nl is running on a nameserver of the isp

    the domain that isnt working is: laemers.nl

    the error from dns report is:
    [ERROR: The parent servers do not have any NS records for laemers.nl. This DNS Report only works for domains with nameservers (such as example.com), not hostnames such as www.example.com, or IPs such as 198.168.12.14.]

    but the nameserver check from Sidn.nl (the dutch company that manage the domeins) doesnt show any error
    errors=0, warnings=0, informational=0
    * domein laemers.nl.
    * nameserver ns1.djhost.nl./62.41.26.208
    * nameserver ns2.djhost.nl./62.41.26.209


    this is my screenshot of the zone template for laemers.nl
    Zone file screenshot

    Plaese help
    Grz
    Terrorhawk
     
  2. Gareth

    Gareth Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2004
    Messages:
    71
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Isle of Anglesey, UK
  3. terrorhawk

    terrorhawk Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2004
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    well both name servers are on the same machine.

    the strange thing is that its say's they its running on ns1.transip.nl
    but i changed the name servers for that domain a few hours ago to ns1.djhost.nl and ns2.djhost.nl
     
  4. Gareth

    Gareth Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2004
    Messages:
    71
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Isle of Anglesey, UK
    When you change the nameservers for a domain name it can take 24/48 hours for the changes to propagate to all the registries.
     
  5. Ramsy

    Ramsy Guest

    I use this standard zonetemplate in whm without any problems ....

    Code:
    ; cPanel %cpversion%
    ; Zone file for %domain%
    $TTL %ttl%
    @      IN      SOA     %nameserver%. dnsadmin.crystalcore.nl. (
    		%serial%	; serial, todays date+todays
    		7200		; refresh, seconds
    		7200		; retry, seconds
    		2419200		; expire, seconds
    		86400 )		; minimum, seconds
    
    %domain%. IN NS %nameserver%.
    %domain%. IN NS %nameserver2%.
    %domain%. IN NS %nameserver3%.
    %domain%. IN NS %nameserver4%.
    
    %domain%. IN A %ip%
    %domain%. IN TXT "v=spf1 ip4: ip4:62.41.26.0/24 ~all"
    
    localhost.%domain%. IN A 127.0.0.1
    
    %domain%. IN MX 0 %domain%.
    
    mail IN CNAME %domain%.
    www IN CNAME %domain%.
    ftp IN CNAME %domain%.
    
    http://www.dnsreport.com/tools/dnsreport.ch?domain=crystalcore.nl
     
  6. terrorhawk

    terrorhawk Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2004
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    wel thats right but then the old record still has to work?
    couse the old name server ns1.transip.nl did work and when i switch back to this nameserver the domain works again
    the problem is nothing works on my nameserver.. when i try to ping the domain i get the message "cannot find host"


    hey i dont have this line
    Code:
    %domain%. IN TXT "v=spf1 ip4: ip4:62.41.26.0/24 ~all"
    
    what does this line do ??
     
  7. Gareth

    Gareth Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2004
    Messages:
    71
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Isle of Anglesey, UK
    This line is an spf record see http://spf.pobox.com/ for more details.

    Basically it is another way to combat spam, or more acurately, stop spammers from sending spam with your domain in the email address (from). Sites like Hotmail are checking received mail against the spf records, others will be implementing it like AOL
     
  8. terrorhawk

    terrorhawk Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2004
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
  9. terrorhawk

    terrorhawk Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2004
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Well everything works now..

    the last problems where from my ISP
    they had a problem with the DNS server.. i used another DNS server from a other isp and now its works


    thnx for the help


    Topic Closed
     
Loading...

Share This Page