The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Nameservers are slow

Discussion in 'Bind / DNS / Nameserver Issues' started by upaxnet, Apr 21, 2017.

Tags:
  1. upaxnet

upaxnet Member

cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hi all,

First off, I'm new to cPanel and these forums, I'm a migrant from Plesk which I have been using a long time. Oh and I have also searched the forums for this issues, and I have found similar problems with others but no solutions.

I have currently installed the a trial of cPanel & WHM on one of my servers.
    I've also installed 2 cPanel DNSONLY on 2 fresh installed VPS's

Everything is working peachy but the initial record lookup at my DNS is taking a loooong time. We are talking about maybe 10-15seconds before the website loads in.

This only happens the first time you visit the site, or when you visit the site again after a while, and the browser is talking to the DNS servers to get the records. After the browser gets the info it wants the website load all pages super fast, and it is fast the whole visit, until you leave and come back a while later.

My DNS setup is as following:

Webserver (Mode set on both DNS "Synchronize Changes")
    |
    |_ DNS Server 1 (Mode set on Webserver: Standalone)
    |
    |_ DNS Server 2 (Mode set on Webserver: Standalone)

I've checked intodns.com, mxtoolbox and a few other DNS check tools and the results show no errors and it shows the results fast.

My DNS servers are also setup on 2 different geo locations and not in the same DataCenter.

gyazo.com/5939c88d48cb446e7c182259f8fb165b']Gyazo - 5939c88d48cb446e7c182259f8fb165b.png

Thanks for you time.

/Eirik

I could not Edit my post so I will have to make a reply instead. My servers, Webserver and DNS servers are running CentOS7.

#1 upaxnet, Apr 21, 2017