The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

nameservers did not respond:

Discussion in 'Bind / DNS / Nameserver Issues' started by fxs, Dec 15, 2014.

  1. fxs

    fxs Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2014
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hi,

    We have one nameserver dnsonly already installed (several monthes ago) and it works-
    We want a second dnsonly WHM and it doesn't work (version 11.46.0 (build 22)).

    Intodns report shows: "nameservers did not respond"

    There is no firewall. Cbulk and so are disabled.

    Received this message: "our WHM server is configured with IP address 1xxxxxxxx and has a misconfigured hostname. This misconfiguration can cause some services on your server to not restart properly. The cause of your misconfiguration is:The system is unable to retrieve the WHM hostname configuration information. To fix this problem, we recommend that you perform the following action: Verify the file system permissions of the “/etc/wwwacct.conf” file on your server.

    The following file seems to me ok:
    "HOST ns............ip-............eu
    HOMEDIR /home
    ETHDEV eth0
    NS ns.............eu
    NS2 sdns1.ovh.net
    HOMEMATCH home
    NSTTL 86400
    NS4
    TTL 14400
    ADDR ...............
    DEFMOD paper_lantern
    SCRIPTALIAS y
    CONTACTPAGER
    MINUID 500
    NS3
    CONTACTEMAIL webmaster@............
    LOGSTYLE combined
    DEFWEBMAILTHEME x3"

    What i have to search?
    Any help will be appreciated
    Regards

    Francois
     
  2. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,833
    Likes Received:
    672
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello :)

    Internal case number 128077 is open to address the issue where manual updates of the hostname on an 11.46+ DNSOnly server will trigger a hostname-change alert, and direct the user to update their hostname through WHM, which is not possible on a DNSOnly server. The "Change Hostname" option is going to be added to WHM on DNS-Only to address this issue. You can monitor our change log for the inclusion of the case number:

    11.46 Change Log

    You can manually correct the hostname entry in /etc/wwwacct.conf or run the "hostname" command until the resolution has been released.

    Thank you.
     
  3. fxs

    fxs Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2014
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hi again,

    We install several times dnsonly
    1) Once time we get an error with cbulk and we saw an error message regardind dnsonly=0. We saw too quickly to understand what happens. It seems to us that cbulk are parametred to work by default.
    2) Another time we get the error message for the hostname. For us this is correct.
    3)When we compare dnsonly1 (on server 1) that works with dnsonly2. dnsonly 1 asks to install mod security;not dnsonly2
    4) CSF is working with dnsonly1. We try dnsonly 2 with and without CSH
    5)dnsonly1 and 2 connect perfectly wth the other servers. When we ask dnsonly 2 it didn't answer

    Do you have some parameter by default with mod security or cpbhulk that preclude a proper operation of dnsonly??????

    PS: we doubt seriously we have the same issue mentioned above
     
  4. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,833
    Likes Received:
    672
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    To clarify, how far apart were the installations? For instance, are you saying you notice this behavior when installing cPanel DNS-Only at the same time on different machines?

    Thank you.
     
  5. fxs

    fxs Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2014
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    The first secondary server were installed a few mothes ago

    The second secondary server 3 days ago.

    the 3 servers are connected. One secondary server does not answer

    Any suggestions will be appreciated.

    regards
     
  6. cPanelPeter

    cPanelPeter Technical Analyst III
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2013
    Messages:
    569
    Likes Received:
    15
    Trophy Points:
    18
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Twitter:
    Hello,

    Please open a support ticket using the link in my signature. We can investigate that for you.
     
  7. fxs

    fxs Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2014
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    It's ok for me but I cannot submit a ticket because your system doesn't accept my data.
    I can only submit the ip of the primary server with its password/Support Access Number, but not those of the secondary server.
    it doesn't accept the ip of of the secondary with the corresponding Support Access Number I got with the command /usr/local/cpanel/cpanel -S.
    (I rent servers with full paid whm licence at OVH).

    Another way to open a ticket?

    Regards
     
  8. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,833
    Likes Received:
    672
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    You can simply open a support ticket with the IP address that allows you to open the ticket and then update the authentication details afterwards using the method listed here:

    Grant Support Access

    Simply reply to the ticket to let us know if you have trouble updating the details.

    Thank you.
     
Loading...

Share This Page