The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Nameservers/DNS Help!

Discussion in 'Bind / DNS / Nameserver Issues' started by RandyJ, Dec 24, 2011.

  1. RandyJ

    RandyJ Registered

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2011
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I've just installed cPanel onto my VPS and my nameservers don't seem to be working.
    I have 2 IP addresses for my server. I registered the nameservers ns1 and ns2 to my server IP's with my domain registrar.
    I might have messed up the options while doing the initial set up.
    How would I go back and fix them?
    Please help.

    EDIT: Also, I get no response if I ping the namservers (ns1/ns2.domain.com)
    My domains I'm hosting on separate cPanel accounts aren't loading as well (never have)
    My hostname is working fine though.
    I've ran through all the DNS setting in WHM and edited DNS zones of my nameservers and previously made hosting accounts.
    I honestly don't know what to do right now.
     
    #1 RandyJ, Dec 24, 2011
    Last edited: Dec 25, 2011
  2. storminternet

    storminternet Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2011
    Messages:
    462
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Generally it takes time to update the nameserver records worldwide, though in same cases propagation can take 48-72 hours.
    You have not mentioned here when did you register the nameserves so I assume they might be under dns propagation.
    Sometimes this can also happen because of dns cache.

    But you can check with registrar,
    1)If you have registered nameservers properly, pointing to your vps's IP
    2)You have added their dns zone on vps.
    3)named is running on your vps, if not then just restart it. Restarting named will also flush dns cache of your vps.
    4)Firewall can also cause the problem. Try stopping csf, iptables on your vps.
     
  3. RandyJ

    RandyJ Registered

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2011
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    My box is located far off in Europe while I'm in the USA.
    I just recently fixed my nameservers last night.

    1) I know I have them pointing to both of my server's IPs.
    2) I've correctly added/edited my dns zones for ns3/ns4.domain.com to server IPs via WHM.
    3) Okay, restarted named right now.
    4) I haven't installed any other firewall then what comes with cPanel.

    Thanks for your efforts to help. I very much appreciate it.
     
  4. linux7802

    linux7802 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2007
    Messages:
    232
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    First check nameserver and ips present in the WHM >> Main >> DNS Functions >> Nameserver IPs and make sure that its having correct nameserver with the respective ips
     
  5. faisikhan

    faisikhan Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2011
    Messages:
    88
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Islamabad, Pakistan
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hi Randy,

    Its good that you have fixed most of the issues, but remember to allow port "53" used for named in your any firewall either provided by Cpanel or you use Iptalbes :)
     
  6. cPanelTristan

    cPanelTristan Quality Assurance Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2010
    Messages:
    7,623
    Likes Received:
    21
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    somewhere over the rainbow
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Please note that port 53 is used for named, but it needs to be opened for UDP rather than simply TCP traffic. Most times, people forget it also runs on UDP and only open it for TCP. Here's a more detailed discussion of how to add such a rule if you are using the default RedHat firewall and port 53 UDP has not been opened:

    http://forums.cpanel.net/f5/new-whm-server-dns-not-working-248632.html#post1030931
     
Loading...

Share This Page