Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!

Nameservers/DNS Help!

Discussion in 'Bind/DNS/Nameserver' started by RandyJ, Dec 24, 2011.

  1. RandyJ

    RandyJ Registered

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2011
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    I've just installed cPanel onto my VPS and my nameservers don't seem to be working.
    I have 2 IP addresses for my server. I registered the nameservers ns1 and ns2 to my server IP's with my domain registrar.
    I might have messed up the options while doing the initial set up.
    How would I go back and fix them?
    Please help.

    EDIT: Also, I get no response if I ping the namservers (ns1/ns2.domain.com)
    My domains I'm hosting on separate cPanel accounts aren't loading as well (never have)
    My hostname is working fine though.
    I've ran through all the DNS setting in WHM and edited DNS zones of my nameservers and previously made hosting accounts.
    I honestly don't know what to do right now.
     
    #1 RandyJ, Dec 24, 2011
    Last edited: Dec 25, 2011
  2. storminternet

    storminternet Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2011
    Messages:
    460
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Generally it takes time to update the nameserver records worldwide, though in same cases propagation can take 48-72 hours.
    You have not mentioned here when did you register the nameserves so I assume they might be under dns propagation.
    Sometimes this can also happen because of dns cache.

    But you can check with registrar,
    1)If you have registered nameservers properly, pointing to your vps's IP
    2)You have added their dns zone on vps.
    3)named is running on your vps, if not then just restart it. Restarting named will also flush dns cache of your vps.
    4)Firewall can also cause the problem. Try stopping csf, iptables on your vps.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  3. RandyJ

    RandyJ Registered

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2011
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    My box is located far off in Europe while I'm in the USA.
    I just recently fixed my nameservers last night.

    1) I know I have them pointing to both of my server's IPs.
    2) I've correctly added/edited my dns zones for ns3/ns4.domain.com to server IPs via WHM.
    3) Okay, restarted named right now.
    4) I haven't installed any other firewall then what comes with cPanel.

    Thanks for your efforts to help. I very much appreciate it.
     
  4. linux7802

    linux7802 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2007
    Messages:
    232
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    68
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    First check nameserver and ips present in the WHM >> Main >> DNS Functions >> Nameserver IPs and make sure that its having correct nameserver with the respective ips
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  5. faisikhan

    faisikhan Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2011
    Messages:
    88
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    56
    Location:
    Islamabad, Pakistan
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hi Randy,

    Its good that you have fixed most of the issues, but remember to allow port "53" used for named in your any firewall either provided by Cpanel or you use Iptalbes :)
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  6. cPanelTristan

    cPanelTristan Quality Assurance Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2010
    Messages:
    7,608
    Likes Received:
    32
    Trophy Points:
    238
    Location:
    somewhere over the rainbow
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Please note that port 53 is used for named, but it needs to be opened for UDP rather than simply TCP traffic. Most times, people forget it also runs on UDP and only open it for TCP. Here's a more detailed discussion of how to add such a rule if you are using the default RedHat firewall and port 53 UDP has not been opened:

    http://forums.cpanel.net/f5/new-whm-server-dns-not-working-248632.html#post1030931
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
Loading...

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice