Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!

Nameservers help

Discussion in 'Bind/DNS/Nameserver' started by Rahxie, Nov 11, 2008.

  1. Rahxie

    Rahxie Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2005
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    I recently got a new server and after moving all my clients to the new server, it has messed up the nameserver entries.

    I need to change this but there's a lot of domains hosted. If I add a new account to the server, it is setup with the correct nameservers. All the ones that I migrated to the new server, have the nameservers ns1/ns2.rsclientdns.com.

    Is there a way to change this? I need to change all the records from ns1.rsclientdns.com to my own nameservers. This has caused problems for a number of clients. I've already changed the nameservers on WHM to the correct ones but it hasn't updated the dns entries that were already there on over 70 accounts.

    Thanks :).
     
  2. sirotex

    sirotex Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2008
    Messages:
    121
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Hello,

    Yes. You can either edit manually by using the DNS function in WHM.

    WHM > DNS Functions > Edit DNS Zone.

    Or just backup all the accounts and restore them. This will then change it auto.
     
  3. Rahxie

    Rahxie Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2005
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    I guess it's going to take quite a long time then, I best get started. Thanks for your reply. :)
     
  4. lngtanseco

    lngtanseco Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2006
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    156
    Assuming that your new name servers are as follows:

    ns1.yourdomain.com
    ns2.yourdomain.com

    Change ns1 to your name server.
    Code:
    find /var/named/*.db -type f -exec sed -i "s/ns1.rsclientdns.com/ns1.yourdomain.com/" {} \;
    
    Change ns2 to your name server.
    Code:
    find /var/named/*.db -type f -exec sed -i "s/ns2.rsclientdns.com/ns2.yourdomain.com/" {} \;

    The above code should help expedite the process.
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  5. Rahxie

    Rahxie Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2005
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Thank you so much lngtanseco! It was taking forever manually changing them all. Now it's all done thanks to you. :)
     
  6. lngtanseco

    lngtanseco Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2006
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    156
    You're welcome!
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
Loading...

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice