Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Nameservers not available to use

Discussion in 'Bind / DNS / Nameserver Issues' started by Avais, Jun 8, 2017.

Tags:
  1. Avais

    Avais Registered

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2017
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Pakistan
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hi, I have just installed WHM/cPanel installed on VPS. The nameservers of the primary domain are pointing towards to the VPS. The installation was completed. I have set new nameserver on WHM Panel so I may use it on other domains.
    I am facing the following issue:
    1) I am not able to use new nameservers to other domains, and it says that "these nameservers are not available."
    2) I am not able to access subdomains on the primary domain, where WHM is installed. (It says site can't be reached)
     
  2. Eminds

    Eminds Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2016
    Messages:
    211
    Likes Received:
    13
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    India
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Since the name servers are not active you will not be able to access the subdomain. Make sure you have proper A records added of the name servers within WHM and the name servers must be registered at registrar's end in order to make them active.
     
  3. cPanelJasonT

    cPanelJasonT Level 2 Technical Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2014
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    83
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello,
    If the nameserver entries at the registrar point to your server, the registration steps are already completed. You will also need to ensure that the dns zone includes A records for the nameservers, so that the dns server can also resolve the nameservers' hostnames to their ip addresses. This can be done two ways. One way is to click Configure Address Records for each nameserver entry in WHM Home »Server Configuration »Basic WebHost Manager® Setup
    Documentation for this feature is available here:
    Basic WebHost Manager Setup - Documentation - cPanel Documentation

    Another way is to add them directly to the dns zone in WHM Home »DNS Functions »Edit DNS Zone
    Documentation for this feature is available here:
    Edit DNS Zone - Documentation - cPanel Documentation
     
  4. Avais

    Avais Registered

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2017
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Pakistan
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    How will I check whether my new nameservers that I have set in newly installed WHM panel are working or active to use else where (other domains)
     
  5. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    38,658
    Likes Received:
    1,425
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
Loading...

Share This Page