Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

nameservers not reflecting whats in zone records

Discussion in 'Bind / DNS / Nameserver Issues' started by simeon, Apr 18, 2017.

Tags:
  1. simeon

    simeon Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2003
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    This is a strange one. I've been running whm server for about 10 years and haven't run into this before.

    I've got three whm servers, all in a dns cluster (lets call them server1, server2, and server3). All are running whm 64

    I moved a few sites from from server2 to server3 on the weekend (2, almost 3 days ago).

    In the zone records, I can see that the sites updated with their new ip addresses. TTLs are set to 4 hours.

    The dns however, has not updated.

    By checking 3rd party sites like whatsmydns.net, or mxtoolbox, I can see the domains still resolving to the old IP address.

    In fact, if I do an nslookup in the terminal on any of the servers, that returns the old address as well.

    I successfully moved sites a couple of weeks ago, so this seems to be a recent issue.

    I'm not sure where to look.

    simon
     
  2. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    38,658
    Likes Received:
    1,425
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello,

    Have you verified the correct DNS entries are utilized on all services in the cluster? If so, try browsing to "WHM Home » DNS Functions » Synchronize DNS Records" and use "Synchronize one zone to all servers" for one of the affected domain names.

    Thank you.
     
  3. simeon

    simeon Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2003
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Just tried that. No change.

    Zone records in whm are good on all servers, the nslookup returns the incorrect ip though.
     
  4. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    38,658
    Likes Received:
    1,425
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello,

    Could you open a support ticket using the link in my signature so we can take a closer look? You can post the ticket number here so we can update this thread with the outcome.

    Thank you.
     
  5. simeon

    simeon Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2003
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
  6. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    38,658
    Likes Received:
    1,425
    Trophy Points:
    363
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello,

    To update, here's a quote from the support ticket explaining how this works:

    Thank you.
     
Loading...

Share This Page