The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Nameservers Questions

Discussion in 'Bind / DNS / Nameserver Issues' started by mehnihma, Apr 11, 2013.

  1. mehnihma

    mehnihma Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2012
    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    6
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hi

    When I set up custom name servers and dnyonly cpanel

    In Basic setup of all Cpanel I have to enter all nameservers and IPs?
    Or just the name server of that Cpanel server?

    Thanks
     
  2. Phincy

    Phincy Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2012
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    You need to assign the IP addresses too.. just click on the assign IP address button and that should automatically add the IP..
     
  3. mehnihma

    mehnihma Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2012
    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    6
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Thanks

    Can you also tell me now I have problem with IP
    I have added same IP in ns1 ns2 and I have set up new nameserver and then tried to change ns2 to new IP but in Cpanel Basic configuration I still see old IP,
    I have added new yone and A record for domain, when I ping ns2 i get right IP but in Cpanel nameservers I see old iP?
    How to change it?
     
  4. Phincy

    Phincy Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2012
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hi Mehnihma,

    Were are you seeing the old IP address for the nameserver ns2? Is it in Main >> DNS Functions >> Nameserver IPs? Can you paste the output of the following commands here?

    ---
    cat /etc/nameserverips
    grep ns2 /var/cpanel/nameserverips.yaml
    ---

    You can assign the correct the IP address by clicking the "Assign IP addess" button in the basic WHM/cpanel settings. It will open a new window and you can put the new IP address in the box there, save the configuration and that should work.

    If still the "Nameserver IPs" in the WHM is showing old IP, try renaming the file /var/cpanel/nameserverips.yaml to /var/cpanel/nameserverips.yaml_bkp and reload the section Main >> DNS Functions >> Nameserver IPs. This has worked for me once. Also make sure that the ns2 is pointing(in dig command) to the server to the correct P address.


    Regards,
    Phincy
     
  5. mehnihma

    mehnihma Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2012
    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    6
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hi

    When I go to "Assign IP address" I get The nameserver has been assigned the xxx and I do not get the option to put IP in?
     
  6. mehnihma

    mehnihma Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2012
    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    6
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Also when I check DNS of my server I get:
    ns2.domain-server.com. Parent nameservers report 5.xxx.xxx.xxx, your nameservers report 80.xx.xxx.xxx

    In cpanel I get old IP and I have added A record and everything else for new IP
    Also when I change /etc/nameserverips they revert to old ones

    How to change that nameserver?
     
  7. quietFinn

    quietFinn Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2006
    Messages:
    998
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Finland
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    You change that in the registrar of domain-server.com.
     
  8. mehnihma

    mehnihma Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2012
    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    6
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator

    Hi
    Yes I did that 2 days ago
    And When I ping that nameserver I get right IP from Cpanel I get old IP
     
  9. mehnihma

    mehnihma Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2012
    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    6
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    It looks like there was an error in my zone.

    now it it ok

    Thanks
     
Loading...

Share This Page