The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!
  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

NameServers using redundant registar DNS - Is possible?

Discussion in 'Bind / DNS / Nameserver Issues' started by fcbinfo, Nov 13, 2013.

  1. fcbinfo

    fcbinfo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2006
    Messages:
    120
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    NameServers using redundant registrar DNS - Is possible?

    Hi.

    For example, if you have a domain, that will not host website, and will be used only to give your website customers the ns1.domain.com and ns2.domain.com

    Can you use the DNS server of registrar to do it instead of use your cPanel bind server?

    if you have 2 cpanel servers, add A record on registrar DNS like:

    srv01-ns1.domain.com A 111.111.111.111
    srv01-ns2.domain.com A 111.111.111.112

    srv02-ns1.domain.com A 111.111.111.151
    srv02-ns2.domain.com A 111.111.111.152

    This will work to give this address to your customers?
    Or this need to be hosted on your cPanel bind server?

    The bad thing with this, if you host in your bind cpanel server, when 1 server goes down, your other server stop to works too. That's why I'm asking for it.

    Thanks for help.
     
    #1 fcbinfo, Nov 13, 2013
    Last edited: Nov 13, 2013
  2. fabin

    fabin Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2009
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Gods Own Country
    If you want to register only the nameservers with IP like

    ns1.domain.com -> 111.111.111.111
    ns2.domain.com -> 111.111.111.112

    Then, it needs to be done only at the registrar. It is explained at How to Register Private Nameservers

    If you use two dns servers, one for NS1 and another for NS2, then if one server goes down, the DNS will still function using the other one.
     
  3. quietFinn

    quietFinn Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2006
    Messages:
    998
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Finland
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Re: NameServers using redundant registrar DNS - Is possible?

    Yes that will work, the DNS zone of domain.com can be hosted anywhere you want.
     
  4. fcbinfo

    fcbinfo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2006
    Messages:
    120
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Thank you guys.

    I'm gonna do this. I'll use this domain only to provide to my customers the nameservers.

    Think is better to do this on the registrar, because if you got some ddos in one of your servers, the other server still working =)
     
  5. cPanelMichael

    cPanelMichael Forums Analyst
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    30,678
    Likes Received:
    648
    Trophy Points:
    113
    cPanel Access Level:
    Root Administrator
    Hello :)

    Ensure you setup the "A" records for your name servers at the registrar as well after creating the name servers. Assuming you are hosting the DNS Zone at the registrar, the domain name will use your registrar's name servers.

    Thank you.
     
Loading...

Share This Page