Please whitelist cPanel in your adblocker so that you’re able to see our version release promotions, thanks!

The Community Forums

Interact with an entire community of cPanel & WHM users!

Nameservers with identical ips

Discussion in 'Bind/DNS/Nameserver' started by sexy_guy, Apr 5, 2003.

  1. sexy_guy

    sexy_guy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2003
    Messages:
    848
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Does anyone know if its possible to assigned different nameserver names to the same ip?

    E.G. ip 123.45.678.90

    Can it be called ns1.mydomain.com as well as ns1.netname.com resolving to the same ip?
     
  2. Angel78

    Angel78 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2002
    Messages:
    413
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    318
  3. sexy_guy

    sexy_guy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2003
    Messages:
    848
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    And no would mean? Can you give your reason why you think NO or are you just saying NO because you dont know?

    I think i am about to prove to you that NO realy means YES. Thanks for your answer.
     
    #3 sexy_guy, Apr 5, 2003
    Last edited: Apr 5, 2003
  4. LS_Drew

    LS_Drew Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2003
    Messages:
    187
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Yes you can. And in fact, with Arin cracking down on justification, it's really silly not to.
     
  5. Juanra

    Juanra Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2001
    Messages:
    777
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    316
    Location:
    Spain
    Sure you can:
    whois 213.190.4.70
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  6. sexy_guy

    sexy_guy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2003
    Messages:
    848
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Thats what i thought, as soon as my new nameserver names ns3 and ns4.efastservers.com propogates i will know for sure. :D
     
  7. torwill

    torwill Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2002
    Messages:
    141
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    yes, you can! i have several of them running fine (for resellers). :D :D
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  8. sexy_guy

    sexy_guy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2003
    Messages:
    848
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Now lets make sure we are all on the same wavelength. Your saying that all your resellers are using 2 ips, the same ip for all the nameservers they have registered? So you have

    reseller 1 using 11.111.111.111 ns1.reseller1.com and ns2
    reseller 2 using 11.111.111.111 ns1.reseller2.com and ns2
    reseller 3 using 11.111.111.111 ns1.reseller3.com and ns2

    Different nameserver names but all using the same 2 ips?
     
  9. bmcpanel

    bmcpanel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2002
    Messages:
    546
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    316
    When I tried this once (by mistake), my registrar gave me an error notice saying the IP was already assigned as a name server. It wouldn't let me do it. (BulkRegister).
     
  10. casey

    casey Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2003
    Messages:
    2,303
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    191
    My registrar let me do it (OnlineNIC)...
     
  11. Stefaans

    Stefaans Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2002
    Messages:
    456
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    318
    Location:
    Vancouver, Canada
    Some country registrars require reverse DNS setup of name servers. That implies unique IP's with PTR records. Re-using name server IP will mean those name servers cannot serve the relevant country domain names.

    Some registrars even inssist that name servers be geographically separated. Good idea in theory, I think. :eek:
     
    Stop hovering to collapse... Click to collapse... Hover to expand... Click to expand...
  12. Finkinstein

    Finkinstein Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2003
    Messages:
    131
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    How would you set this up in cpanel if a nameserver had the same 2 ips. Or would you not have to?
     
Loading...

Share This Page

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice